BBC HomeExplore the BBC

15 September 2014
Accessibility help
Text only
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


Press Releases

Voting now open for Radio 3's Listeners Award – part of Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards

Listeners can once again vote for an exceptional musician to receive an award as part of the prestigious Royal Philharmonic Society Music Awards (RPS), in association with BBC Radio 3.


This is the sixth year that Radio 3 has collaborated with the RPS and classical music audiences have the opportunity with this special award to recognise an artist whose broadcast performances have proved particularly outstanding.


The shortlist of nominees is available on from 13 February and votes can be placed online or by phone on 08700 100 300 (calls cost between 2p and 8p from a BT line, calls from other networks and mobile phones may vary). Voting closes on Friday 14 March 2008.


The winner will be announced at this year's RPS Music Awards ceremony on 15 May, and highlights of the awards will be broadcast on Radio 3 the following evening in Performance On 3 at 7.00pm.


Roger Wright, Controller of Radio 3, said: "The RPS Music Awards continue to reflect an immense breadth and brilliance of music-making.


"This year's shortlist for the Radio 3 Listeners Award presents ten nominees who have each enjoyed a particularly thrilling year of performances.


"I know our audience will enjoy having the chance to vote for the artist who has given them the most listening pleasure over the past year."


The Royal Philharmonic Society is one of the world's oldest music societies and its annual Music Awards celebrate achievements in the field of live classical music.


The RPS Music Awards are governed by the society's guiding principles of Excellence, Creativity and Understanding.


Nominations are invited annually from leading members of the profession and organisations throughout the country.


The awards, in 13 categories, are decided by independent panels consisting of some of the music industry's most distinguished practitioners, with a 14th award voted for by the listeners of Radio 3.


The awards honour musicians, composers, writers, broadcasters and inspirational arts organisations from the UK and abroad, and this year's celebrations mark their achievements during 2007.


The list of nominees for the Radio 3 Listeners Award is as follows:


  • Jirí Belohlávek
  • Christine Brewer
  • Alice Coote
  • Mark Elder
  • Steven Isserlis
  • Steven Osborne
  • Mark Padmore
  • Lawrence Power
  • Gwilym Simcock
  • Llyr Williams


The Radio 3 Listeners Award was created in 2002. Previous winners have included Angela Hewitt, Sir Thomas Allen, Sir Charles Mackerras, Marin Alsop and Miah Persson.


Radio 3 Publicity








The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

Category: Radio 3
Date: 14.02.2008
Printable version

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy