BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

29 October 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Press Releases

2007 Radio 2 Folk Awards nominations announced

The nominations have been announced for the 2007 BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards which will be held at The Brewery in London on Monday 5 February.


The nominated artists have been chosen by a panel of 150 music professionals who will now decide the winners in each category in a second round of voting.


The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony, which is one of the most-anticipated nights in the folk music calendar.


This year there is also a public vote for The Favourite Folk Track Of All Time.


Votes can be cast via the Radio 2 Folk Awards website.


John Leonard, Producer of Radio 2's Mike Harding folk show and the Radio 2 Folk Awards, says: "These are the eighth BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards. They're an occasion to celebrate the music and thank the people who bring it to us.


"They are also a wonderful opportunity to bring folk music to the attention of people who may not normally hear it."


The nominations (listed alphabetically) are:


Folk Singer of the Year

Tim van Eyken

Julie Fowlis

Seth Lakeman

Karine Polwart


Best Duo

Martin Carthy & Dave Swarbrick

Nancy Kerr & James Fagan

Show of Hands

Spiers & Boden


Best Group


Salsa Celtica

Van Eyken



Best Album

Burlesque - Bellowhead

Freedom Fields - Seth Lakeman

Game Set Match - Nic Jones

Stiffs Lovers Holymen Thieves - Tim van Eyken


Best Original Song

Daisy - Karine Polwart

Jack Frost - Mike Waterson (performed by Waterson:Carthy)

Roots - Steve Knightley (performed by Show of Hands)

Steelos - John Tams (performed by John Tams & Barry Coope)


Best Traditional Track

Green Grows the Laurel - Kris Drever

Grey Gallito - Salsa Celtica

Barleycorn - Tim van Eyken

The White Hare - Seth Lakeman


Horizon Award

The Devil's Interval

Kris Drever

Shona Kipling & Damien O'Kane

Martha Tilston


Musician of the Year

John McCusker

Martin Simpson

Dave Swarbrick

Chris Thile


Best Live Act


Vin Garbutt

Seth Lakeman

Salsa Celtica


A full list of previous winners is available at the Radio 2 Folk Awards website.






Category: Radio 2
Date: 15.12.2006
Printable version

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy