BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

29 October 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Sports Personality 2006 winners: Beth Tweddle (third), Zara Phillips (first) and Darren Clarke (second)

Zara Phillips wins BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2006

Zara Phillips has been voted BBC Sports Personality Of The Year by viewers - 35 years after her mother HRH The Princess Royal received the same accolade.


Voting took place during the live programme on BBC One between 7 and 9pm by phone and text.


Zara Phillips - who holds both world and European equestrian titles on her horse Toytown - was presented with the prestigious silver TV camera and tripod trophy.


In second place was golfer Darren Clarke. Gymnast Beth Tweddle came third.


Another vote on the night was for Overseas Personality of the Year which was decided by the studio audience - it went to tennis star Roger Federer.


BBC Radio Five Live listeners voted St Helens Rugby League team as Team of the Year as a result of their treble-winning success. Captain Paul Sculthorpe was in the studio to receive the award on behalf of the team.


Swedish tennis legend Bjorn Borg won the Lifetime Achievement award for his contribution to sport. Former tennis star and BBC commentator Boris Becker was delighted to present the award.


Coach of the Year was awarded to Daniel Anderson for his success in guiding St Helens Rugby League team, completing a memorable double for the club at the awards.


The Helen Rollason Award for courage and achievement went to snooker player Paul Hunter who passed away in October after losing his battle with cancer.


Fellow snooker player Jimmy White presented his widow Lindsey with the award, in recognition of Paul's character, bravery and determination to continue playing while trying to beat the disease.


Arsenal footballer Theo Walcott was named as the BBC Young Sports Personality of the Year.


He beat England number one table tennis star Paul Drinkhall and athlete Elizabeth Clegg to win the category, awarded to a youngster of great talent who is under 17 years of age on 1 January 2006.


The award was decided by a panel of judges that included BBC Sport presenter John Inverdale, Blue Peter presenter Andy Akinwolere and representatives from the Youth Sport Trust.


Previous winners include footballer Wayne Rooney in 2002, tennis player Andy Murray in 2004, and athlete Harry Aikines-Aryeetey in 2005.


Little Britain's David Walliams was presented with a surprise one-off award in recognition of his outstanding achievement of swimming the English Channel and raising more than £1m in aid of Sport Relief. His co-star Matt Lucas presented the award.


The Unsung Hero Award honours an individual who has given their time and talents for free to enable others to participate in sport.


Val Hanover from North Shropshire Special Olympics Club won this award, supported this year by Tesco. Alan Shearer and Owen Hargreaves presented this award live on stage.


Val impressed the judges with her great commitment to people with learning disabilities, firmly believing in the power of sport to enrich lives. She is also a passionate fund-raiser.


Sport Publicity




Category: Sport
Date: 10.12.2006
Printable version

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy