BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Press Releases

Brilliant Berkshire bags a hat-trick!

Category: BBC; Radio Berkshire; Radio Cumbria

Date: 28.09.2005
Printable version

BBC Radio Berkshire has scooped top honours in three categories at this year's Frank Gillard Awards - the first time the station has ever won one of the coveted busts!


The awards, which celebrate the very best of BBC Local Radio, were presented by the Chairman of the BBC, Michael Grade, at the historic naval dockyard in Portsmouth last night.


Radio Berkshire claimed Gold in the Programme Presenter, Social Action and Diversity categories.


It was a question of persistence paying off for Andrew Peach who took the Programme Presenter award. He has been entered for the Gillards every year and this is his first gold success after gaining a bronze in 2002.


BBC Radio Cumbria repeated its 2001 triumph by winning the prestigious Station of the Year Award whilst last year's winners BBC Radio Solent showed its strength in journalism by taking the honours in the Coverage of a News Story and Reporter categories.


The keenly contested Breakfast Programme award went to BBC Radio Newcastle's Mike Parr Breakfast Show while BBC Radio Devon won the Radio Promotion award for an unprecedented third successive year.


BBC Chairman Michael Grade said: "In an increasingly global world people are cherishing that which is familiar, friendly and local.


"On behalf of all licence fee payers, I'm delighted that a global BBC provides a much valued local presence throughout England via BBC Local Radio.


"Congratulations to all those who have been recognised with a Gillard Award."


Outstanding Contribution to BBC Local Radio awards went to Kenny Burton, the popular long-serving BBC Radio Nottingham station engineer known for his gadgetry and problem solving, and to Nigel Kay, the Head of Journalism Development for BBC Nations and Regions.


Nigel retires from the BBC this year after a career embracing all aspects of regional broadcast journalism, from local radio reporting and television news reading to managing BBC Radio and TV stations before becoming a senior member of the Nations and Regions Executive.


41 BBC Local Radio stations and services put forward 261 entries for the awards which are named in honour of Frank Gillard, the founder of BBC Local Radio.


Full list of winners in Gold, Silver and Bronze order


The Breakfast Programme

BBC Radio Newcastle - Mike Parr Breakfast Show

BBC WM - The Adrian Goldberg Breakfast Show

BBC Three Counties Radio - The Robert Perrone Breakfast Show


Programme Presenter

BBC Radio Berkshire - Andrew Peach

BBC Radio Merseyside - Tony Snell

BBC Radio Leeds - Graham Liver and Nicola Rees


Coverage of a News Story

BBC Radio Solent - Silent Calls

BBC Radio Nottingham - The Death of Brian Clough

BBC Southern Counties Radio - General Election


Interactive Programme

BBC Radio Northampton - The Weekender

BBC Three Counties Radio - The Robert Perrone Breakfast Show

BBC Radio Oxford - Bill Heine Show



BBC Radio Solent - Jo Palmer

BBC Radio Cleveland - Jonathan Swingler

BBC Radio Cumbria - Gordon Swindlehurst


Sports Coverage

BBC Radio Derby - Sportscene Special: Brian Clough

BBC Radio York - City Till I Die

BBC Radio Oxford - Didcot Town FA Vase Special


Social Action Campaign

BBC Radio Berkshire - Oxford Road - The Story

BBC Radio Bristol - Babe's Big Appeal

BBC GMR - BBC GMR's 4 Life Campaign


Radio Feature

BBC Radio Stoke - Making Waves

BBC Southern Counties Radio - Diary of a Sex Change

BBC Radio Lincolnshire - Carla's Story


Outside Broadcast

BBC Radio Merseyside - Halfway to Paradise

BBC Radio Cleveland - Tees Valley Day

BBC Radio Solent - Trafalgar 200: The Son et Lumiere


Religious Programming

BBC Radio Nottingham - Sunday Breakfast and Lunchtime programmes

BBC Radio Derby - Compilation Sunday Breakfast Show

BBC Radio Shropshire - BBC Radio Shropshire Religion


Radio Promotion

BBC Radio Devon - A Christmas Murder Mystery

BBC Radio Bristol - Bringing Home the Bacon

BBC Radio Gloucestershire - Dick Whittington



BBC Radio Berkshire

BBC Radio Lincolnshire

BBC Radio Merseyside


Outstanding Contribution to BBC Local Radio

Kenny Burton (BBC Radio Nottingham) and Nigel Kay (Head of Journalism Development)


Station of the Year

BBC Radio Cumbria

BBC Three Counties Radio

BBC Radio Merseyside



Category: BBC; Radio Berkshire; Radio Cumbria

Date: 28.09.2005
Printable version


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy