BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

29 October 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Karine Polwart

BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards - winners

Treble win for Karine Polwart, Lifetime Achievement awards for Ramblin' Jack Elliot and Tom Paxton and Folk Singer of the Year for Martin Carthy

Scottish singer/songwriter Karine Polwart scooped three awards at this year's BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards, held tonight (Monday 14 February).

Karine was presented with Best Album, for her highly acclaimed debut solo album Faultlines, by Charles Kennedy MP, Leader of the Liberal Democrats; Noddy Holder presented Karine with the award for Best Original Song; and Roddy Woomble from Idlewild presented her with the Horizon Award, which acknowledged her outstanding achievements in the past year.

The Folk Singer of the Year Award went to legendary British folk singer Martin Carthy, who also performed at the ceremony. The award was presented by actor Bernard Hill.

Gerald Kaufman MP also presented Martin with the Best Traditional Track award.

Two pioneers of folk music, Ramblin' Jack Elliot and Tom Paxton, received Lifetime Achievement awards.

Radio 2 broadcaster Bob Harris presented Ramblin' Jack Elliot with the Lifetime Achievement Award and Tom Paxton was presented with the Lifetime Achievement Award for Song Writing by fellow singer/songwriter Ralph McTell.

Both Elliot and Paxton also performed.

Author Terry Pratchett presented Steeleye Span with the Good Tradition Award.

Northumberland piper Kathryn Tickell was presented with the Musician of the Year Award by previous Musician of the Year winner John McCusker.

The awards also featured performances from Steeleye Span, Karine Polwart, Martin Carthy with Martin Simpson, Kathryn Tickell, Oysterband Big Session, Eddi Reader and Bellowhead.

The sixth annual Radio 2 Folk Awards were co-hosted by Mike Harding and Mary Ann Kennedy and took place at The Brewery in London.

The Awards can be heard on Radio 2 on Wednesday 16 February (7.00-9.00pm) and are broadcast on BBC FOUR on Friday 18 February (9.30-11.00pm).

Results of the BBC Radio 2 Folk Awards 2005

Best Duo: Aly Bain and Phil Cunningham. Award presented by Barbara Dickson

Best Dance Act: Whapweasel. Award presented by Ashley Hutchings

Musician of the Year: Kathryn Tickell. Award presented by John McCusker

Best Live Act: Bellowhead. Award presented by The Archers' Buffy Davies

Best Group: Oysterband Big Session. Award presented by Bruce Dickinson

Horizon Award: Karine Polwart. Award presented by Roddy Woomble

Best Traditional Track: Martin Carthy. Award presented by Gerald Kaufman MP

Lifetime Achievement for Song Writing: Tom Paxton. Award presented by Ralph McTell

Best Original Song: Karine Polwart. Award presented by Noddy Holder

Folk Club of the Year: Hitchin Folk Club. Award presented by Chris While and Julie Matthews

Good Tradition Award: Steeleye Span. Award presented by Terry Pratchett

Lifetime Achievement Award: Ramblin' Jack Elliot. Award presented by Bob Harris

Best Album: Karine Polwart. Award presented by Charles Kennedy MP

Folk Singer of the Year: Martin Carthy. Award presented by Bernard Hill

Full details on the Radio 2 Folk Awards (including the history of the Awards) and information on Radio 2's folk and acoustic output is available at



Category: Radio 2
Date: 14.02.2005
Printable version

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy