BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Press Releases

Stars shine at BBC Sports Awards

Category: East Midlands TV; Radio Nottingham

Date: 06.12.2004
Printable version

Stars of the sports world were out in force at the BBC East Midlands Sports Awards 2004.

More than 200 guests, including scores of top Midland sporting personalities, were present at the glittering ceremony supported by Sport England and the East Midlands Development Agency.

Taking centre stage at last night's (Sunday 5 December) event was Darren Maddy, the Leicestershire County Cricketer whose record breaking run-scoring saw the team win their first Twenty20 cup. Darren was voted by BBC viewers and listeners in the region as BBC Midlands Sports Personality of the Year.

Jayne Torvill, one half of world famous ice skating couple Torvill and Dean, was also present to accept the auspicious Lifetime Achievement award on behalf of the pairing.

Paul Morgan from Lincoln City FC landed the title of Footballer of the Year and Lee Westwood won a special award for his Ryder Cup performance.

The BBC Unsung Hero of the Year award went to Jean Lawrence, Newark Rugby Club.

Other awards of the evening included:

Disabled Sportsman of the Year - Danny Greaves, paralympic gold medal discus, Leicester;

Disabled Sportswoman of the Year - Jane Stidever, paralympic gold, swimming;

Leicester Team of the Year - Nottinghamshire County Cricket Club;

Junior Sportsman of the Year - Chris Wilkinson, jet ski, Lincolnshire;

Junior Sportswoman of the Year - Lizzie Simmonds, swimmer, Lincolnshire;

Regional Sports Board of Sport England Community Coach of the Year - Gaynor Nash, Fyffes Leicester Ladies Hockey;

East Midlands Development Agency Enterprise in Sport Award - Advanced Composites Group, Heanor, Derbyshire - design and build of Olympic track bikes;

Coach of the Year - Graham Bassi, Lincoln Vulcans Swimming Club;

Junior Disabled Sportsman of the Year - Rob Welbourn, Lincoln Vulcans Swimming Club;

Junior Disabled Sportswoman of the Year - Kayleigh Black, Boccia International, Nottinghamshire;

Brian Clough Award (awarded to a rising star) - Lee Camp, Derby County;

Sportswoman of the Year - Jeanette Brakewell, Olympic silver equestrian, Leicestershire;

Sportsman of the Year - joint Nathan Robertson (badminton) and Campbell Walsh (canoe slalom), Olympic silvers.



Category: East Midlands TV; Radio Nottingham

Date: 06.12.2004
Printable version


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy