BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Press Releases

Winners of the BBC Jazz Awards 2004

Category: Radio 2; Radio 3

Date: 30.07.2004
Printable version

BBC Radios 2 and 3 came together last night to present the fourth annual BBC Jazz Awards which was held at London's Hammersmith Palais.


Co-hosted by Claire Martin and Ian Shaw, the event was a star studded affair celebrating the whole spectrum of the jazz genre.


The ceremony featured award presentations by Wynton Marsalis, Katie Melua, Amy Winehouse, Baroness Amos, Bill Oddie, Moira Stuart and Sebastian Coe among other jazz loving celebrities, and performances by a host of jazz stars.


Barak Schmool led the F-IRE Collective group, winners of Jazz Innovation, and opened the show with David Okumu, rising star nominee this year.


A heart-warming tribute was shown on screen dedicated to the late Jed Williams who was recognised for his services to jazz for running the Brecon Jazz Festival.


Caroline Williams, his partner, gratefully received the award which was given by Lifetime Achievement winner George Melly.


Colin Steele, joined by Dave Milligan on piano, gave a triumphant performance playing a track from his award winning album The Journey Home which was voted Best Album by the public.


The event climaxed with a show-stopping performance by Best Band and Best Instrumentalist winner, Soweto Kinch, together with legendary Wynton Marsalis who also picked up the International Artist award.


The award presenters and winners were:


Presented by
Best Album
Colin Steele
(The Journey Home)
Geoffrey Smith
Best Band
Soweto Kinch
Wynton Marsalis
Best Vocalist
Ian Shaw
Sheila Ferguson
Best Instrumentalist
Soweto Kinch
Amy Winehouse
Rising Star
Seb Rochford
Sebastian Coe
Best New Work
Richard Fairhurst (Cheltenham - Jerwood Rising Star Commission)
Helen Mayhew

Jazz Innovation

F-IRE Collective
Katie Melua
Services to Jazz
Jed Williams
George Melly
Inernational Award of the Year
Wynton Marsalis
Baroness Amos
Jazz Heritage Award
Keith Nichols
Bill Oddie
Lifetime Achievement
George Melly
Lord Montagu


Extended highlights of the awards will be broadcasted by Radio 2 on Monday (2 August) at 7.00pm, by Radio 3's Jazz On 3 today (Friday 30 July) at 11.30pm and Radio 3's Jazz Line-Up tomorrow (Saturday 31 July) at 4.00pm.


The awards will also be available online at





Category: Radio 2; Radio 3

Date: 30.07.2004
Printable version


The BBC is not responsible for the content of external internet sites

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy