BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Press Releases & Press Packs



50th Sports Personality of the Year

Facts and figures

1. Since 1954 38 men, ten women and one couple have won the trophy.

2. Torvill and Dean (1984) are the only couple to have won it.

3. Men have filled the first three positions on 21 occasions. Women have filled them only once, in 1962, when Anita Lonsbrough, Dorothy Hyman and Linda Ludgrove topped the voting.

4. The only people to have won twice are Henry Cooper (1967 and 1970), Nigel Mansell (1986 and 1992) and Damon Hill (1994 and 1996).

5. The average age of the winners is 28.

6. Racing drivers have been the oldest winners, with an average age of 34.66.

7. At 44, Dai Rees (1957) is the oldest male winner and Ian Black (1958), at 17, is the youngest.

8. The oldest female winner is Mary Peters (1972), who was 33.

9. HRH Princess Anne (1971) is the youngest female winner, at 21.

10. The winners have represented 14 different sports.

11. All the winners have been in the studio to collect the trophy in person except Jim Laker (1956), Ian Botham (1981) and Steve Davis (1988).

12. All three were competing overseas and had the trophy flown out and presented to them on film.

13. The winners' nationalities break down like this: English (42); Scottish (3); Northern Irish (2); and Welsh (2).

14. The first ever winner of the competition in 1954 was athlete Chris Chataway.

15. The first ever woman to win the award was Olympic swimmer Anita Lonsbrough in 1962.

16. The Overseas ward was first presented in 1960.

17. Since 1960, 39 men and six women have won the Overseas award.

18. Oleg Protopopov and Ludmila Belousova (1968) are the only couple to have won the Overseas award.

19. Only two people have won the Overseas award more than once: Muhammed Ali (1973, 1974 and 1978) and Greg Norman (1986 and 1993).

20. There have been three sets of Overseas joint-winners: Ron Clarke and Gary Player (1965); Eusebio and Gary Sobers (1966); and Evander Holyfield and Michael Johnson (1996).

21. The average age of Overseas winners is 27.87.

22. At 44, George Moore (1967) was the oldest Overseas male winner

23. Boris Becker (1985), at 18, was the youngest Overseas male winner.

24. The oldest Overseas female winner was Ludmila Belousova (1968), who was 33.

25. Nadia Comaneci (1976) was the youngest Overseas female winner at 15.

26. The Overseas winners have represented 13 different sports and 19 different countries; USA (18); Australia (7); USSR (3); Brazil and Germany (2); and Austria, Barbados, Canada, Croatia, Ethiopia, France, New Zealand, Portugal, Romania, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland and Trinidad (1).

27. The Overseas winners' sports break down like this: tennis (11); athletics and golf (8); boxing (5); football (3); gymnastics, ice skating and cricket (2); and cycling, horse racing, motor racing, rugby league and rugby union (1).

28. Since 1954, 112 of the top three places have gone to men and 29 have gone to women (no record of the second and third place winners survives for 1955-57 and Torvill and Dean are counted as separate individuals).

29. Graham and Damon Hill are the only example of members of the same family coming in the top three.

30. The sportspeople voted into the top three places have represented 20 different sports.

31. Highest number of top three places: Steve Davis (5); Ian Botham, Sebastian Coe and Daley Thompson (4); David Beckham, Steve Cram, Sally Gunnell, Nigel Mansell and Steve Redgrave (3).

32. Breakdown of top threes' nationalities: English (110); Scottish (14); Welsh (7); Northern Irish (7); and other (3).

33. Harry Carpenter presented more shows than any other principal presenter. Between 1961-1985 he was principal presenter for 25 shows.

34. Steve Rider was principal presenter for 17 shows between 1986-2002.

35. Frank Bough was principal presenter for 19 shows between 1964-1982.

36. Desmond Lynam was principal presenter for 16 shows between 1983-1998.

37. Peter Dimmock was principal presenter for 10 shows between 1954-1963.

38. Sue Barker was principal presenter for nine shows between 1994-2002.

39. Gary Lineker was principal presenter for four shows between 1999-2002.

40. Athletics has produced 16 winners, the highest number of winners from any sport.

41. Motor racing has produced six winners. Nigel Mansell and Damon Hill both won the trophy twice, with Stirling Moss and Jackie Stewart making up the other two wins.

42. Jockey Lester Piggott won the Special Achievement award twice in 1984 and 1994.

43. The four winners of the Lifetime Achievement award are Frank Bruno (1996), Seve Ballesteros (1997), Sir Alex Ferguson (2001) and George Best (2002).

44. The Helen Rollason award has gone to Jenny Pitman (1999), Tanni Grey-Thompson (2000), Ellen McArthur (2001) and Jane Tomlinson (2002).

45. Don Revie of Leeds United received Manager of the Year award in 1969.

46. The Special Team award in 1986 was won by Great Britain's mens 4x400 metres team, athletes.

47. The International Team award in 1983 was won by Alan Bond and the crew of Australia II, sailing.

48. The Coach of the Year award has been won by Sir Alex Ferguson (1999), Jurgen Grobler (2000), Sven-Goran Eriksson (2001) and Arsene Wenger (2002).

49. Jenson Button won Newcomer of the Year award in 2000, with Dean Macey winning the award in 1999.

50. Sports Personality of the Century was won in 1999 by Muhammed Ali.

All the BBC's digital services are now available on Freeview, the new free-to-view digital terrestrial television service, as well as on satellite and cable.

Freeview offers the BBC's eight television channels, interactive services from BBCi, as well as 11 national BBC radio networks.



About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy