BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

Press Releases & Press Packs



Winners of the EMMA Awards announced

Trevor Nelson and Konnie Huq hosted a gala evening, attended by leading names from the worlds of music, literature, film, journalism and comedy, together with ambassadors and diplomats from over 40 countries, to celebrate the sixth annual NatWest EMMA Awards (Ethnic Multicultural Media Academy).

The awards show took place at The Grosvenor House Hotel, London tonight (Friday 30 May).

This year's Legacy Honour was dedicated to the memory of Martin Luther King, and honoured him for his outstanding leadership of the Civil Rights Movement that tackled racism during the 60s.

His daughter Yolanda King flew over especially to receive this distinguished accolade honouring her late father's achievement.

Living legend Stevie Wonder received a special Lifetime Achievement award for Excellence in the Music Industry, for his work over four decades.

BBC winners included journalists Rageh Omaar and Barnie Choudhury and the BBC TWO comedy The Kumars at No. 42.

Awards were presented by a variety of personalities including Leader of the Opposition Iain Duncan Smith MP, actress Angela Griffin, Old School actor Anthony Anderson, I'm a Celebrity Get Me Out of Here's Chris Bisson and John Fashanu, sportsman Chris Eubank, singer Michelle Gayle, Radio Five Live's Mark Bright and actors Jimmy Mistry and Will Mellor.

The EMMA Awards 2003 were recorded for screening on BBC TWO on Sunday 1 June.

During the evening there were live music performances from artists including Darius, Big Brovaz and Sonique.

Bobby Syed, founder and director of the EMMAs, said: "Never has there been a greater need to unite people from all ethnic backgrounds. This ceremony has grown to become the multicultural celebration of diverse media talent."

2003 Winners and Finalists

Music Section

Best British Music Act / Production

Blak Twang (All Of Sound)

Ms. Dynamite (Universal Music) (Winner)

Roots Manuva (Big Dada Recordings)

Sugar Babes (Polydor / Universal)

Best International Music Act / Production

Aaliyah (Independiente)

Eminem (Universal)

Justin Timberlake (Jive) (Winner)

Norah Jones (EMI Parlophone)

Best World Music Act / Production

Cloktaire K (Nocturne)

Manuchau (Virgin)

Orchestra Baoba (World Circuit Productions)

Tasha's World (The Klinik Music Production) (Winner)

Film Section

Best Film Production

Bend It Like Beckham (Helkon SK Films) (Winner)

City Of God (Buena Vista Films)

Dirty Pretty Things (BBC Films / Miramax)

Far From Heaven (Universal)

The Pianist (Studio Canal)

Best Film Actor

Adrien Brody, The Pianist (Studio Canal)

Chiwetel Ejiofor, Dirty Pretty Things (BBC Films / Miramax)

Dennis Haysber, Far From Heaven (Universal)

Jimmi Mistry, The Guru (Universal) (Winner)

Best Film Actress

Parminder Nagra, Bend It Like Beckham (Helkon SK Films)

Queen Latifa, Chicago (Miramax)

Salma Hayek, Frida (Miramax) (Winner)

Sophie Okonedo, Dirty Pretty Things (BBC Films / Miramax)

TV Section

Best TV Entertainment Production

Lenny Henny, This Is My Life (BBC)

The Kumars At No. 42 (BBC) (Winner)

3 Non Blondes (BBC)

White Teeth (Channel 4)

Best TV Actor

Cyril Nri, The Bill (Thames) (Winner)

Lennie James, Buried (Channel 4)

Om Puri, Murder (BBC) and White Teeth (Channel 4)

Will Johnson, Babyfather (BBC)

Best TV Actress

Angela Griffin, Babyfather (BBC) (Winner)

Diane Parish, Babyfather (BBC) and The Bill (Thames)

Naome Harris, White Teeth (Channel 4)

Sophie Okonedo, Clocking Off (BBC)

Arts and Entertainment Section

Best Play / Theatre Production

Bombay Dreams (The Really Useful Group) (Winner)

Crime And Punishment In Dalston (BBC)

Fragile Land (The Hampstead Theatre)

Sing Your Heart Out For The Lads (The National Theatre)

Best Comedy / Comedian

Mark Thomas (The Richard Stone Partnership)

Meera Syal (PDF)

Meet The Magoons (Channel 4)

Ria Lina (Stephen Jones) (Winner)

Best Book / Novel

Hari Kunzru, The Impressionist (Penguin)

Ghada Karmi, In Search Of Fatima (Versos)

John Pilger, The New Rulers Of The World (Versos)

Michael Moore, Stupid White Men (Penguin) (Winner)

Journalism Section

Best Print News Journalism

Emelia Kenlock (The Voice)

Gary Younge (The Guardian) (Winner)

Raekha Prasad (The Guardian)

Vikram Dodd (The Guardian)

Best Radio Journalist

Barnie Choudhury (BBC) (Winner)

Nazanine Moshiri (BBC)

Raphael Rowe (BBC)

Zubida Malik (BBC)

Best TV News Journalist

Clive Myrie (BBC)

Krishan Guru-Murthy (ITN)

Kurt Barling (BBC)

Navdip Dhariwal (BBC)

Rageh Omaar (BBC) (Winner)

Best TV Documentary

Hidden Jihad (Channel 4) (Winner)

India's Calling (Hypnotic Films)

Real Life: Living On The Edge (Carlton)

Through Muslim Eyes (Channel 4)

Public Figure For The Year

Diane Abbott MP, House Of Commons

Lord Herman Ouseley, House Of Lords

Lucy Cope, founder of Mothers Against Guns UK (Winner)

Rabinder Singh, QC

Media Personality For The Year

Arandhati Roy, Journalist / Author

John Pilger, Journalist / Author (Winner)

Michael Moore, Director / Author

Rageh Omaar, BBC World Affairs Correspondent

Sports Personality For The Year

Ashia Hansen, European and Commonwealth triple jump Champion

Lennox Lewis, MBE, WBC and IBF Heavyweight Champion (Winner)

Sachin Tendulkar, batsman for the Indian Cricket team

Thierry Henry, Arsenal striker

The EMMA Awards 2003 will be shown on BBC TWO on Sunday 1 June at 11.25pm.

All the BBC's digital services are now available on Freeview, the new free-to-view digital terrestrial television service, as well as on satellite and cable.

Freeview offers the BBC's eight television channels, interactive services from BBCi, as well as 11 BBC radio networks.



About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy