BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

24 September 2014
Press Office
Search the BBC and Web
Search BBC Press Office

BBC Homepage

Contact Us

BBC Worldwide Press Releases


Top of the Pops Awards 2002 - Award Winners

The wait is finally over, and tonight in front of a sold out crowd of more than 10,000 pop fans and a star-studded audience at the Manchester Evening News Arena, this year's Top of the Pops Awards winners were revealed.

Hosted by Ireland's greatest pop export Ronan Keating, superstars and soap-stars, legends and newcomers provided an impressive line-up for this, the second year of the Top of the Pops Awards, which will be screened in 112 countries around the world in the coming week.

With fantastic live performances from Moby, Blue, Kylie, Will Young and Gareth Gates, Ms Dynamite, Big Bruvaz, Daniel Bedingfield, Manic Street Preachers, Craig David and the Sugababes, the night came to a fantastic grand finale when the winner of this year's Hall of Fame Award was announced as Sir Elton John. He then went on to perform 'Sorry Seems to be the Hardest Word' with Blue and closed the show with 'Your Song'.

During the month of November the categories were voted for by the general public, readers of Top of the Pops Magazine and by visitors to the Top of the Pops website. This is what makes these awards so special to the fans; they get to choose who they want to win.

Everyone's favourite Pop Princess, Kylie Minogue, returned to the Top of the Pops Awards for a second year, this time winning Top Tour, and the mighty Ms Dynamite rounded off her impressive debut year with yet another award to add to her collection for Top R'n'B.

The battle for Top Pop Act was won by the boys from Blue, who have had a fantastic year with a string of top 10 singles and a number one album, and Belgium's finest, Ian Van Dahl beat the likes of Moby, JXL and Basement Jaxx to win Top Dance. Oasis proved to still be a firm favourite with the voting public winning Top Rock, and Coldplay won Top Album for their multi-platinum selling album 'A Rush of Blood to the Head'.

Chart-topping, record breaking, Will Young stole the show scooping the Top Newcomer Award in a fiercely contested category that featured some of this year's biggest names including Gareth Gates, Holly Valance and Ms Dynamite. Will also went on to snatch the award for Top Single for 'Evergreen' from chart-rivals Liberty X, Enrique Iglesias, Nickleback and Shakira.

The Winners:

Top Newcomer - Will Young
Top Dance - Ian Van Dahl
Top Rock - Oasis
Top Tour - Kylie Minogue
Top Pop - Blue
Top R'n'B - Ms Dynamite
Top Album - Coldplay 'A Rush of Blood to the Head'
Top Single - Will Young 'Evergreen'
Hall of Fame - Sir Elton John

The Top of the Pops Awards will be broadcast on BBC One on Saturday 30th December at 17.40, and on BBC Prime at 21:00 CET.

The awards will also be shown on RTL in Germany, BNN in the Netherlands and Jim TV in Belgium.

Notes to editors:
The Top of The Pops Awards is a BBC Entertainment Production.
Director Julia Knowles
Producer Robin Ashbrook
Executive Producer Chris Cowey



About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy