Disability Q&A  permalink

Anyone had their credit/debit cards converted to signature?

This discussion has been closed.

• Message 1. 

Posted by 1982welshman (U14272859) on Tuesday, 23rd February 2010

Hi, when I ended up needing a wheelchair I had a problem with being unable to reach the Chip & Pin machines. Plus I wasn't happy with the standing person behind watching. Through my bank/credit card company they recommended having my cards changed to 'Revert to signature'. Basically now I (or someone else) puts my card into the chip and pin machine, then it comes up to remove card and a receipt is printed out (like it always used to be before chip and pin) I sign it, they check the signature and I'm away. If I want to withdraw cash from an ATM I do so in the normal way, put the card in, enter my pin and take out the cash.

I've been using this now for around 2 years and never encountered any problems. Now Saturday when I was out I went to pay for some goods in Maplin and I'm refused. Ended up being told how my card was illegal and to pay another way. I was really taken aback, plus all my cards are signature so I had no other way to pay. The receipt was printed out and I tried explaining that I need to sign it but again I'm refused and told to leave.

As the queue was now pretty long behind me they called the manager over. Yup they said the same thing apparently all my cards are illegal and I should leave the store.

Has anyone else come up against this before and if so how am I supposed to pay for goods if I'm no longer allowed to use my debit/credit cards?

Any help greatfully received, thanks.

Report message1

• Message 2

, in reply to message 1.

Posted by DavidG (U2600889) on Tuesday, 23rd February 2010

My guess is you got a couple of muppets who have never heard of Chip and Signature, I'd suggest a letter of complaint to Maplins head office.

Report message2

• Message 3

, in reply to message 2.