See Hear Talk  permalink

Doctors/other people not believing you're deaf

This discussion has been closed.

• Message 1. 

Posted by treasureBelle (U10483514) on Friday, 1st February 2008

hi everyone

sorry, this is going to be rather long.
    this is my first time on See Hear, im usually to be found on Ouch talk or the Cane and Able. smiley - smiley

i was just wondering, has anyone else ever had problems with doctors/other people not believing that you're deaf?

i was born deaf (though i can hear now), and at first the doctors didn't notice it. after 1 or two years (too young for me to remember properly, i got all this from my mum but am still a little vague on the details as to times/dates/age etc), my mum had tried everything she could to tell the doctors i was deaf, but they wouldn't believe her. i hadn't started talking yet, and was also probably in quite a bit of pain... my mum says i used to suck my hand so hard when i was little, i lift marks on my hand where my teeth had been. still the doctors wouldn't listen, and said that i couldn't be deaf because i turned round when they rattled stuff behind my ear; mum kept telling them about how i wouldn't answer when someone called my name, and that i wouldn't even respond when someone called to say it was mealtimes (very unusual for me now) but they still didn't accept i was deaf.
    but still they only noticed i hadn't started to talk yet, so sent me to a speech therapist, who spent a couple of minutes with me and said, "why have they sent me a child who is deaf?" it was only with her help that my mum managed to persuade the doctors to listen.
    (i thought *I* was supposed to be the deaf person in this entire situation! smiley - laugh)
    so, *finally* after several years, i managed to get an operation which allowed me to hear.

(ok, i know this last bit isn't *exactly* about being deaf, but i find it funny anyway)