BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page has been archived and is no longer updated. Find out more about page archiving.

27 November 2014

BBC Homepage

Local BBC Sites

Neighbouring Sites

Related BBC Sites

Contact Us


You are in: North Yorkshire > Sport > Features > BBC Yorkshire Sports Personality of the Year

BBC Yorkshire Sports Awards

BBC Yorkshire Sports Personality of the Year

The winners of the BBC Yorkshire Sports Awards were announced at a glittering ceremony in Barnsley. BBC Look North's Christa Ackroyd, Harry Gration and Tanya Arnold hosted the event... But who walked away with the coveted gongs?

The nominations had finished, the judges had judged, the phone-lines had been ringing off the hook and finally it was time to announce the winners of this year's BBC Yorkshire Sports Awards.

James Toseland

James Toseland.

World Superbike Champion, James Toseland was named as BBC Yorkshire's Sports Personality. Richard Caiborn MP presented James with his award. The Sheffield born rider won the World Superbike Championship for the second time at Magny-Cours in France in October.

Sport in Yorkshire is thriving, but it's all down to those people at the grassroots level of local sport, who more often than not, help out for little or no cash reward whatsoever.

Kevin Conway and Rob Northfield

Kevin Conway (right) and Rob Northfield.

One of the most important awards is the BBC Yorkshire Sporting Unsung Hero Award and this year it was won by Kevin Conway from Hemsworth Miners Welfare Community FC. He received his award from Rob Northfield, chair of Harrogate Railway.

During the ceremony a special Spirit of Yorkshire award was given posthumously to charity fundraiser Jane Tomlinson. The award was collected by her husband, Mike, along with Jane's brother Luke Goward. Nell McAndrew presented them with the award.

Mike Tomlinson, Luke Goward, Nell McAndrew.

Mike Tomlinson and Luke Goward.

Legendary cricketer Geoffrey Boycott was presented with the Hall of Fame Trophy.

Other BBC Award winners:

  • Coach of the year - Tony Smith (Leeds Rhinos/Great Britain)
  • Team of the year - Leeds Rhinos
  • Outstanding performance - Junior Witter (boxer)

Sports England Awards:

  • Junior boy - Abdirisak Ahmed
  • Junior girl - Jessica Ren
  • Senior male - Paul Goodison
  • Senior female - Jessica Ennis
  • Senior athlete with disabilities - Danielle Brown
  • Junior athlete with disabilities - Esther Stranger
  • Junior team - St John Fisher RC School, Harrogate
  • Senior team - Sheffield Hatters basketball

The judges:

The BBC Awards were judged by a seven-strong panel whose names are listed below: 

Tanya Arnold - BBC Look North
Harry Gration - BBC Look North
Sharon Shortle - BBC Radio York
Derm Tanner - BBC Radio Leeds
Seth Bennett -BBC Radio Sheffield
Matt Reeder - Yorkshire Post
Elizabeth Peacock, Ch RAC

The panel also made up the shortlist for the BBC Yorkshire Sports Personality of the Year Award.  Viewers of BBC Look North voted for the winner.

last updated: 03/12/07

You are in: North Yorkshire > Sport > Features > BBC Yorkshire Sports Personality of the Year

About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy