BBC HomeExplore the BBC
This page was last updated in December 2008We've left it here for reference.More information

2 September 2014
Accessibility help
Text only

BBC Homepage


Contact Us

Like this page?
Send it to a friend!


BBC Radio Foyle hosted the North West Sports Personality of the Year awards. Take a look at the gallery of winners.

BBC Radio Foyle -  North West Sports Personality of the Year Awards.

The winners and organisers of the North West Sports Personality of the Year awards. Back Row , L to R - Mayor Drew Thompson, Eric White, Nigel Worthington, Redmond McFadden, Ritchie Kelly, Paul McCauley, Dessie McCallion. Front Row - Billy McCallion, Jim McLaughlin, Boyd Rankin, PJ McGowan, Noel McMonagle.

Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge Click to enlarge
Click to enlarge Click to enlarge



BBC Radio Foyle held the North West Sports Personality Of The Year dinner on Saturday night (26th January) at the Everglades Hotel in Derry. Guest of honour was Northern Ireland football manager Nigel Worthington.

The twelve winners of the Sports Personality of the Month were nominees for the award , which was won by Ireland cricketer Boyd Rankin who took twelve wickets at the World Cup in the West Indies.

The Team of the Year was Donegal Gaelic Football who won the National League.


The Unsung Hero Award went to Billy McCallion, a gymnastics coach in Shantallow who has dedicated his life to training young people in that area.

A special award was given to Hannah Shields, the first Irish woman to climb Everest.


MONTHLY WINNERS : Jan | Feb | March | April | May | June | July | Aug | Sept | Oct | Nov | Dec


HALL OF FAME : Jim McLaughlin



  on next : Sarah Brett

Listen Live Email the show
Listen Live

028 7126 6522

Listen Live

Text FOYLE to 81771

Mark Patterson Facebook page - for anyone who wants to find out more about Mark's show.


Have your say on the BBC NI messageboard »


North West 200 logo


Visit the Milk Cup site.


About the BBC | Help | Terms of Use | Privacy & Cookies Policy