Ballon d'Or: Ronaldo & Messi joined by Gareth Bale on list

  • 20 October 2015
Gareth Bale Image copyright PA
Image caption Wales and Real Madrid forward Gareth Bale is the only Briton to make it on to the shortlist for football's best player award

Manchester City trio Sergio Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne and Yaya Toure are among five Premier League players nominated for the Fifa Ballon d'Or.

Chelsea's Eden Hazard and Arsenal's Alexis Sanchez are also on the shortlist for world football's best player award.

Ballon d'Or holder Cristiano Ronaldo of Real Madrid and Barcelona's Lionel Messi lead the list of 23 players.

Wales forward Gareth Bale is the only British player named.

The Ballon d'Or
Award created by France Football magazine in 1956 and handed to the best European player in Europe. Initially, only European journalists voted, before it was expanded to those from across the world
Non-European players in Europe have been allowed to be voted for since 1995 The Ballon d'Or and Fifa World Player of the Year joined to become one award in 2010
Barcelona's Lionel Messi has won a record four times Englishmen have won it five times - Stanley Matthews (1956), Sir Bobby Charlton (1966), Kevin Keegan (1978 & 79), Michael Owen (2001)

Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho and Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger are nominated for Coach of the Year.

Spain's La Liga leads the way, with 11 players nominated, while Germany's Bundesliga has six nominees. There are two from Italy's Serie A and one - Paris St-Germain's Zlatan Ibrahimovic - from France's Ligue 1.

Fifa Ballon d'Or shortlist

Image copyright Reuters
Image caption Real Madrid's Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Fifa Ballon d'Or for the last two years

Sergio Aguero (Argentina/Manchester City), Gareth Bale (Wales/Real Madrid), Karim Benzema (France/Real Madrid), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal/Real Madrid), Kevin De Bruyne (Belgium/VfL Wolfsburg/Manchester City), Eden Hazard (Belgium/Chelsea), Zlatan Ibrahimovic (Sweden/Paris Saint-Germain), Andres Iniesta (Spain/FC Barcelona), Toni Kroos (Germany/Real Madrid), Robert Lewandowski (Poland/FC Bayern Munich), Javier Mascherano (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Lionel Messi (Argentina/FC Barcelona), Thomas Muller (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Manuel Neuer (Germany/FC Bayern Munich), Neymar (Brazil/FC Barcelona), Paul Pogba (France/Juventus), Ivan Rakitic (Croatia/FC Barcelona), Arjen Robben (Netherlands/FC Bayern Munich), James Rodriguez (Colombia/Real Madrid), Alexis Sanchez (Chile/Arsenal), Luis Suarez (Uruguay/FC Barcelona), Yaya Toure (Côte d'Ivoire/Manchester City), Arturo Vidal (Chile/Juventus/FC Bayern Munich).

Fifa World Coach of the Year for Men's Football shortlist

Image copyright Reuters
Image caption Chelsea manager Jose Mourinho is on a 10 man shortlist for world football's best coach

Massimiliano Allegri (Italy/Juventus), Carlo Ancelotti (Italy/Real Madrid), Laurent Blanc (France/Paris Saint-Germain), Unai Emery (Spain/Sevilla FC), Pep Guardiola (Spain/FC Bayern Munich), Luis Enrique (Spain/FC Barcelona), Jose Mourinho (Portugal/Chelsea), Jorge Sampaoli (Argentina/Chilean national team), Diego Simeone (Argentina/Atletico Madrid), Arsene Wenger (France/Arsenal).

More on this story