Rugby World Cup 2015: Fixtures & groups

  • 12 October 2015
New Zealand lift the World Cup in 2011 Image copyright Cameron Spencer
Image caption Can anyone stop reigning World Cup champions New Zealand from winning again this year?

The eighth Rugby World Cup kicks-off on Friday 18 September at Twickenham Stadium in London.

Defending champions New Zealand will be looking to do what no other team has done before - claim back-to-back titles.

But England, Ireland, South Africa, Australia, Wales and France all have the potential to be crowned 2015 Rugby World Cup champions in what is shaping up to be the most competitive tournament ever.

Here's the fixtures and groups for the 2015 Rugby World Cup hosted by England.

Pool A

Image copyright AllSport/Getty Images
Image caption Wales captain Sam Warburton raises a smile during a training session. He'll be hoping his team can come through a tough group including England and Australia

Teams - Australia, England, Fiji, Uruguay and Wales

Fri 18 Sep - England v Fiji (Twickenham), 8pm

Sun 20 Sep - Wales v Uruguay (Cardiff), 2.30pm

Wed 23 Sep - Australia v Fiji (Cardiff), 4.45pm

Sat 26 Sep - England v Wales (Twickenham), 8pm

Sun 27 Sep - Australia v Uruguay (Villa Park), 12 noon

Thu 1 Oct - Wales v Fiji (Cardiff), 4.45pm

Sat 3 Oct - England v Australia (Twickenham), 8pm

Tue 6 Oct - Fiji v Uruguay (Milton Keynes), 8pm

Sat 10 Oct - Australia v Wales (Twickenham), 4.45pm

Sat 10 Oct - England v Uruguay (Manchester), 8pm

Pool B

Image copyright PA
Image caption First Minister Nicola Sturgeon (centre, holding ball) has a photo taken with the Scotland Rugby World Cup Squad at Murrayfield Stadium ahead of the World Cup

Teams - Japan, Samoa, Scotland, South Africa and United States

Sat 19 Sep - South Africa v Japan (Brighton), 4.45pm

Sun 20 Sep - Samoa v USA (Brighton), 12 noon

Wed 23 Sep - Scotland v Japan (Gloucester), 2.30pm

Sat 26 Sep - South Africa v Samoa (Birmingham), 4.45pm

Sun 27 Sep - Scotland v USA (Leeds), 2.30pm

Sat 3 Oct - Samoa v Japan (Milton Keynes), 2.30pm

Sat 3 Oct - South Africa v Scotland (Newcastle), 4.45pm

Wed 7 Oct - South Africa v USA (Olympic Stadium), 4.45pm

Sat 10 Oct - Samoa v Scotland (Newcastle), 2.30pm

Sun 11 Oct - USA v Japan (Gloucester), 8pm

Pool C

Image copyright AFP/Getty Images
Image caption New Zealand, seen here performing the traditional haka war dance from the Maori people of New Zealand, are the favourites to win the Rugby World Cup

Teams - Argentina, Georgia, Namibia, New Zealand and Tonga

Sat 19 Sep - Tonga v Georgia (Gloucester), 12 noon

Sun 20 Sep - New Zealand v Argentina (Wembley), 4.45pm

Thu 24 Sep - New Zealand v Namibia (Olympic Stadium), 8pm

Fri 25 Sep - Argentina v Georgia (Gloucester), 4.45pm

Tue 29 Sep - Tonga v Namibia (Exeter), 4.45pm

Fri 2 Oct - New Zealand v Georgia (Cardiff), 8pm

Sun 4 Oct - Argentina v Tonga (Leicester), 2.30pm

Wed 7 Oct - Namibia v Georgia (Exeter), 8pm

Fri 9 Oct - New Zealand v Tonga (Newcastle), 8pm

Sun 11 Oct - Argentina v Namibia (Leicester), 12 noon

Pool D

Image copyright PA
Image caption Ireland will be relying heavily on Jonathan Sexton's brilliant kicking skills to get them plenty of points

Teams - Canada, France, Ireland, Italy and Romania

Sat 19 Sep - Ireland v Canada (Cardiff), 2.30pm

Sat 19 Sep - France v Italy (Twickenham), 8pm

Wed 23 Sep - France v Romania (Olympic Stadium), 8pm

Sat 26 Sep - Italy v Canada (Leeds), 2.30pm

Sun 27 Sep - Ireland v Romania (Wembley Stadium), 4.45pm

Thu 1 Oct - France v Canada (Milton Keynes), 8pm

Sun 4 Oct - Ireland v Italy (Olympic Stadium), 4.45pm

Tue 6 Oct - Canada v Romania (Leicester), 4.45pm

Sun 11 Oct - Italy v Romania (Exeter), 2.30pm

Sun 11 Oct - France v Ireland (Cardiff), 4.45pm


Image copyright AP
Image caption England last won the Rugby World Cup in 2003 when it was held in Australia. Will the team be able to win it again in their home country?

Sat 17 Oct - South Africa v Wales (Twickenham), 4pm

Sat 17 Oct - New Zealand v France (Cardiff), 8pm

Sun 18 Oct - Ireland v Argentina (Cardiff), 1pm

Sun 18 Oct - Australia v Scotland (Twickenham), 4pm


Sat 24 Oct - Winner C/Second D v Winner B/Second A (Twickenham), 4pm

Sun 25 Oct - Winner D /Second C v Winner A/Second B (Twickenham), 4pm


Fri 30 Oct - Bronze medal match (Olympic Stadium), 8pm

Sat 31 Oct - Final (Twickenham), 4pm

More on this story