Eddie Howe: Bournemouth boss is LMA manager of the year

  • 27 May 2015
Eddie Howe Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Howe's Bournemouth won the Championship title on a dramatic final day

Bournemouth boss Eddie Howe has been named the League Managers' Association manager of the year.

Howe was honoured after leading the Cherries into the top flight for the first time in their history.

He also claimed the Championship award, with Chelsea boss Jose Mourinho given the Premier League prize.

Howe is only the second manager from outside the top flight to win the award since 1992.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Howe spent more than a decade playing for Bournemouth

He said: "I can't believe it, I'm so surprised."

Liverpool manager Brendan Rodgers, who presented the award, said: "He's done a fine job, a remarkable job, and done it with style and humility."

Mourinho received the Premier League award after winning the title with Chelsea for the third time in two spells at the club.

Eddie Howe's progress so far
2014-15 Bournemouth are promoted to the Premier League as Championship winners
2013-14 Bournemouth's first season in the Championship sees them finish 10th, six points off the play-offs
2012-13 Howe returns to the Cherries in October and guides them to promotion as League One runners-up
2011-12 Burnley end the season in 13th position in the Championship
2010-11 Howe leaves Bournemouth in January to join Burnley, who finish eighth in the Championship
2009-10 The Cherries finish second in League Two and earn promotion despite a transfer embargo
2008-09 After Howe is appointed on 31 December, Bournemouth avoid relegation and finish 21st in League Two, despite a 17-point deduction

More on this story