Europa League draw: Who will the British teams play?

  • 29 August 2014
Europa League trophy Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption This year's winner will enter next season's Champions League qualifiers

The draw has been done for the group stage of this season's Europa League.

There were three British clubs involved in the draw: Everton, Tottenham Hotspur and Celtic.

This year's competition is particularly important as the winner will qualify for next season's Champions League.

Everton have a tough group. They've been put into group H alongside Lille, Wolfsburg and Krasnidor.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption A tricky draw for Everton

Tottenham will be facing Partisan Belgrade, Besiktas and Asteras Tripolis in group C.

Celtic, who lost in the Champions League qualifiers, drop into the Europa League and play Red Bull Salzburg, Dinamo Zagreb and Astra Giurgiu in group D.

Image copyright Getty Images
Image caption Celtic get a second chance in Europe

The first round of fixtures will be played on 18 September.

The full Europa League draw

Group A: Villarreal, Borussia Monchengladbach, FC Zurich, Apollon Limassol

Group B: FC Copenhagen, Club Brugge, Torino, HJK Helsinki

Group C: Tottenham, Besiktas, Partizan Belgrade, Asteras Tripolis

Group D: Red Bull Salzburg, Celtic, Dinamo Zagreb, Astra Giurgiu

Group E: PSV Eindhoven, Panathinaikos, Estoril Praia, Dinamo Moscow

Group F: Inter Milan, Dnipro Dnipropetrovsk, Saint-Etienne, Qarabag

Group G: Sevilla, Standard Liege, Feyenoord, Rijeka

Group H: Lille, Wolfsburg, Everton, Krasnodar

Group I: Napoli, Sparta Prague, Young Boys, Slovan Bratislava

Group J: Dynamo Kiev, Steaua Bucharest, Rio Ave, Aalborg

Group K: Fiorentina, PAOK Salonika, Guingamp, Dinamo Minsk

Group L: Metalist Kharkiv, Trabzonspor, Legia Warsaw, KSC Lokeren

More on this story