Glasgow 2014 is here but what are the Games?

Commonwealth Games

The Commonwealth Games take place every four years, with the 2014 event being held in Glasgow.

4,500 athletes from 71 nations and territories will compete in seventeen sports over 11 days to try and become a Commonwealth champions.

This will include athletes from Great Britain.

However, unlike Team GB in the Olympic Games, athletes don't represent Great Britain as a whole, instead they are a part of teams from the individual countries that make up Britain; England, Northern Ireland, Scotland and Wales, as well as the Isle of Man, Jersey and Guernsey.

Sporting superstars such as Usain Bolt, Mo Farah and Tom Daley are all competing in what is being billed as the biggest and best Commonwealth Games yet.

More on This Story

  • Newsround logoWatch Newsround

    Watch the latest update from Newsround, CBBC's news programme for children.

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.