Australia win Women's Cricket World Cup

Australia women's cricket team celebrating their win

Australia have batted their way to victory winning the Women's Cricket World Cup for a record sixth time.

The team played superbly beating runner ups West Indies by 114 runs.

Australia took the World Cup title away from previous winners England, who were knocked out earlier in the championships.

It's the first time Australia holds all three of women's cricket's major titles simultaneously: World Twenty20, the Ashes and now the World Cup.

Did you know?

- The first women's world cup was held in 1973, that's two years before the first men's tournament.

- It's the 40th anniversary of the competition, which has been played 10 times now.

More on This Story

  • Newsround logoWatch Newsround

    Watch the latest update from Newsround, CBBC's news programme for children.

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.