Bradley Wiggins is knighted

'Sir Wiggo' talks about his knighthood

Bradley Wiggins has been knighted in the New Year Honours list.

The cyclist became the first Briton to win the Tour de France, won his fourth Olympic gold medal and was crowned the BBC Sports Personality of the Year in 2012.

'Sir Wiggo' is on a special list of 78 Olympians and Paralympians to be honoured by the Queen.

Paralympic cyclist Sarah Storey, has become a dame, and sailor Ben Ainslie has also been knighted.

A government spokesman said more sportsmen and women had received honours this year than ever before, with 123 awards compared to 44 in the last list.

'Extremely proud'

Olympics and Paralympics


  • Ben Ainslie (sailing)
  • Sarah Storey (cycling)
  • Bradley Wiggins (cycling)


  • Jessica Ennis (athletics)
  • Mo Farah (athletics)
  • Katherine Grainger (rowing)
  • Victoria Pendleton (cycling)
  • David Weir (athletics)


  • Jason Kenny (cycling)
  • Andy Murray (tennis)
  • Ellie Simmonds (swimming)
  • Laura Trott (cycling)


  • Nicola Adams (boxing)
  • Alistair Brownlee (triathlon)
  • Jonny Peacock (athletics)
  • Louis Smith (gymnastics)

Bradley Wiggins said: "I never ever imagined that I would ever become a knight so it's an incredible honour.

"But there's a slight element of disbelief and it will take a while to sink in."

Sarah Storey, who won four Paralympic gold medals in cycling, said she was "speechless but incredibly honoured and extremely proud."

Some of the biggest names of London 2012 received CBEs - including Olympic heptathlete Jessica Ennis, long-distance runner Mo Farah, the UK's most successful female rower Katherine Grainger and wheelchair athlete David "The Weirwolf" Weir.

Andy Murray was made an OBE in a year which saw him win Olympic gold and become the first British man to win a grand slam tennis singles title for 76 years when he triumphed in the US Open.

The UK honours system

Just some of the different types of honour

  • Commander of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (CBE): An achievement or service in a leading role at a regional level
  • Officer of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (OBE): Awarded for an achievement with an impact on a large number of people
  • Member of the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire (MBE): Awarded for outstanding achievement or local role models

Twice a year, the Queen honours people who have made an outstanding contribution to society. They can receive a special title like MBE, or are knighted and become a Sir or Dame.

Anyone can recommend someone to be honoured but nominations are finally decided by the government.

More on This Story

  • Newsround logoWatch Newsround

    Watch the latest update from Newsround, CBBC's news programme for children.

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.