Star Wars gets 11 MTV Movie Award nominations with Deadpool on eight

Daisy Ridley as Rey and John Boyega as Finn

It may not have won any Oscars AT ALL but the latest Star Wars film leads the way in this year's MTV Movie Award nominations.

It has 11 nods with British star Daisy Ridley up for best female performance, best hero and best fight in The Force Awakens.

The movie has taken more than $2bn at the worldwide box office so far.

Another Brit, John Boyega, is nominated for best breakthrough and action performance for his role as Finn.

See a full list of this year's MTV Movie Award nominees.

Daisy Ridley

The film will also compete for movie of the year (against Avengers: Age of Ultron, Creed, Deadpool, Jurassic World and Straight Outta Compton) and best cast ensemble at the fan-based awards show in April.

Star Wars: The Force Awakens failed to win any of its five Oscar nominations in February - mostly for visual effects and editing - and failed to get a best picture nomination.

The Millennium Falcon

However, the MTV Movie Awards are all about fans.

"It's about blockbuster movies that audiences line up to see; comedies, superheroes, science fiction, fantasy action," the show's executive producer, Casey Patterson, said in a statement.

The MTV Movie Awards are known for their irreverent humour with categories like best kiss and best villain.

Ryan Reynolds as Deadpool

This year Oscar winner Leonardo DiCaprio will compete in the best fight category for his tussle with a bear in the movie The Revenant, as well as for best male performance.

Deadpool has eight nominations, including for its stars Ryan Reynolds and Gotham's Morena Baccarin.

The 2016 MTV Movie Awards will be handed out in Los Angeles at a ceremony hosted by Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson and Kevin Hart and broadcast on 10 April on MTV.

The nominations were announced on MTV's Snapchat channel.

Find us on Instagram at BBCNewsbeat and follow us on Snapchat, search for bbc_newsbeat