Google Translate introduces 13 new languages including Scots Gaelic and Sindhi


Google Translate says it can now handle more than 100 languages after 13 new ones were introduced.

Scots Gaelic, spoken by around 57,000 people, has been added along with the likes of Hawaiian, Samoan and Pashto.

The service was launched in 2006 with translations initially between English and Arabic, Chinese and Russian.

Google says the 13 new additions will help another 120 million people communicate with the rest of the world online.

The announcement about the new languages was made on the Google Translate blog, which also explains how they choose new ones to add to the database.

Google Translate

Google says it must be a written language but they also need a significant amount of translations in the new language to be available on the web.

After that they use a combination of machine learning, licensed content and the Translate community to help.

The 13 new languages

Amharic - Amharic (Ethiopia) is the second most widely spoken Semitic language after Arabic.

Corsican - Corsican (Island of Corsica, France) is closely related to Italian and was Napoleon's first language.

Calvi in Corsica
Image caption Corsica is an island off the south-east coast of France and has around 322,000 inhabitants

Frisian - Frisian (Netherlands and Germany) is the native language of over half the inhabitants of the Friesland province of the Netherlands.

Kyrgyz - Kyrgyz (Kyrgyzstan) is the language of the Epic of Manas, which is 20 times longer than the Iliad and the Odyssey put together.

Hawaiian - Hawaiian (Hawaii) has lent several words to the English language, such as ukulele and wiki.

Kurdish (Kurmanji) - Kurdish (Kurmanji) (Turkey, Iraq, Iran and Syria) is written with Latin letters while the others two varieties of Kurdish are written with Arabic script.

A beach in Samoa
Image caption Samoa, which used to be known as western Samoa, achieved independence from New Zealand in 1962

Luxembourgish - Luxembourgish (Luxembourg) completes the list of official EU languages Translate covers.

Samoan - Samoan (Samoa and American Samoa) is written using only 14 letters.

Scots Gaelic - Scots Gaelic was introduced by Irish settlers in the 4th Century AD.

Luskintyre beach in Harris on the Outer Hebrides
Image caption According to the 2011 census, the Outer Hebrides are the main stronghold of Scots Gaelic

Shona - Shona (Zimbabwe) is the most widely spoken of the hundreds of languages in the Bantu family.

Sindhi - Sindhi (Pakistan and India) was the native language of Muhammad Ali Jinnah, the "Father of the Nation" of Pakistan.

Pashto - Pashto (Afghanistan and Pakistan) is written in Perso-Arabic script with an additional 12 letters, for a total of 44.

Xhosa - Xhosa (South Africa) is the second most common native language in the country after Afrikaans and features three kinds of clicks, represented by the letters x, q and c.

For more stories like this one you can now download the BBC Newsbeat app straight to your device. For iOS go here. For Android go here.