Grime and hip-hop artists JME and Krept And Konan dominate Mobo nominations

Krept and Konan
Image caption London hip-hop duo Krept and Konan went to number two with their debut album

Grime and hip-hop acts artists JME and Krept And Konan are set to dominate this year's Mobos.

They each have four nominations ahead of the ceremony in November.

Casyo "Krept" Johnson and Karl "Konan" Wilson, who released their debut album The Long Way Home in July, could win in the best hip-hop category.

They're up against JME for best male, album and song, who is also in the running for best grime artist.

Krept and Konan
Image caption Krept and Konan won best hip-hop act at last year's Mobo Awards

Krept told Newsbeat: "Being nominated for four awards, when we work so hard in the studio, we don't know if you are going to win one award or not.

"We are working hard and were not thinking about awards. We are just thinking about making the best project and doing the best we can."

Lianne La Havas, Skepta and Stormzy each have three nominations, while FKA twigs, Little Simz, Bugzy Malone, Lethal Bizzle and Mark Ronson have two.

Image caption English MC JME has released three studio albums

FKA twigs, whose real name is Tahliah Barnett, faces Jess Glynne, Ella Eyre, Lianne La Havas and newcomer Little Simz for best female.

Ella Eyre has told Newsbeat it's amazing to be nominated again.

"It's my third year involved with the Mobos," she told Newsbeat.

Ella Eyre
Image caption Ella Eyre is nominated for best female artist after winning best newcomer at last year's ceremony

"[The] first year I was literally just Rudiment's vocalist, so to come back after winning best female artist last year, and be nominated again in such a strong category, I am honoured and flattered to be a part of that."

X Factor judge Rita Ora is up for best video for Body On Me, which also features Chris Brown.

Rap star Wiley will be honoured with the first ever Paving The Way award.

A paving stone will be laid at his former secondary school in Bow, east London, which his father also attended.

Sarah-Jane Crawford
Image caption Sarah-Jane Crawford's last show on BBC Radio 1Xtra before she moves to LA is on Friday

The nominations were announced by former Xtra Factor host and BBC Radio 1Xtra DJ Sarah-Jane Crawford at Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club in London.

The 2015 Mobo Awards, now in its 20th year, will take place at Leeds' First Direct Arena on 4 November, and will be broadcast live on ITV2.

Best album

Krept and Konan (The Long Way Home), JME (Integrity), Lianne La Havas (Blood), Wiley (Snakes & Ladders) and Jamie XX (In Colour).

Best male

Skepta, Mark Ronson, Krept and Konan, JME and Stormzy.

Image caption Stormzy won best grime act at the Mobos in 2014 and is nominated again this year

Best female

FKA twigs, Little Simz, Ella Eyre, Lianne La Havas and Jess Glynne.

Little Simz
Image caption Little Simz was on 1Xtra's Hot For 2015 list and is up for best female and best hip-hop artist

Best song

Mark Ronson feat Bruno Mars (Uptown Funk), Skepta (Shutdown), Tinie Tempah feat Jess Glynne (Not Letting Go), JME feat Giggs (Man Don't Care) and Krept and Konan (Freak of the Week).

Best newcomer

Bugzy Malone, Section Boyz, Nao, Bonkaz, Nick Brewer, George the Poet, J Hus, Snakehips, Sinead Harnett and Yungen.

Bugzy Malone
Image caption Manchester grime artist Bugzy Malone is up for best newcomer and best grime act
Tori Kelly
Image caption Californian singer-songwriter Tori Kelly performed at the Mobo nominations
Andreya Triana
Image caption London singer-songwriter Andreya Triana released her second studio album Giants in May and is up for best R&B/Soul act

There's a full list of nominations on the Mobos Twitter feed.

Follow @BBCNewsbeat on Twitter, BBCNewsbeat on Instagram and Radio1Newsbeat on YouTube and you can now follow BBC_Newsbeat on Snapchat