Robin Thicke, Avicii and Macklemore top Shazam tag list


Robin Thicke

Shazam has revealed the most popular songs and artists on the music tagging service in 2013.

Robin Thicke's Blurred Lines tops its worldwide chart having been tagged 17.8 million times.

Avicii's Wake Me Up follows with 14.7m and Macklemore & Ryan Lewis' Thrift Shop takes third place with 13.6m.

In the UK, Avicii's track tops the list, with Blurred Lines in second place and Naughty Boy's La La La in third.

Shazam's artists to watch in 2014

    • August Alsina
    • Banks
    • Jhene Aiko
    • Kid Ink
    • Lucy Hale
    • Martin Garrix
    • Rich Homie Quan
    • Sam Smith
    • Vance Joy

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis also came fourth in the worldwide list with Can't Hold Us being tagged 11.9m times.

The hip-hop duo racked up more than 34 million Shazams globally.

The top five is completed by Pink's Just Give Us A Reason, which received 11.8m tags.

In 2011, Adele led the world chart with four million Shazams.

Last year, there were five artists that had achieved more than five million Shazams compared to 43 in 2013.

Daft Punk's Get Lucky, which spent four weeks at number one in the UK this year, is sixth in the overall chart but is number 10 in the UK list.

The top 10 global tracks also include Rihanna's Stay (10.3m) Royals by Lorde (9.4m), Passenger's Let Her Go (9.2m) and Scream & Shout by (7.9m).

La La La, Klangkarussell's Sonnentanz, Look Right Through by Storm Queen and OneRepublic's Counting Stars are the only tracks to appear on the UK list and not the worldwide chart.

Sam Smith
Image caption La La La singer Sam Smith is on Shazam's 2014 new artists to watch list

As well as announcing the most popular tracks on the service this year, Shazam has named 10 artists that they predict will do well in the next 12 months.

Martin Garrix, who had a number one single with Animals last month, as well as Sam Smith and Banks, who also feature on the BBC Sound of 2014 longlist, are among Shazam's 2014 new artists to watch list.

Predictions from previous years included Haim, ASAP Rocky and Lana Del Rey.

Follow @BBCNewsbeat on Twitter