Final Doctor Who e-book author revealed as Neil Gaiman


Author Neil Gaiman has been revealed as the final short story author of the Doctor Who stories.

The series is part of the 50th anniversary of Doctor Who, with each short story being based on one of the 11 Doctors.

Nothing O'Clock will be published towards the end of this month as an e-book.

Gaiman's story focuses on actor Matt Smith's character as the most recent Doctor.

Wouldn't this be fun to see if I can actually make people wee themselves with terror in real life?
Neil Gaiman
Author of Nothing O'Clock

He also revealed he wanted to tell more of the Doctor's assistant Amy Pond, before she got married.

Neil said he also created a new villain called The Kin, which he hopes will "terrify" Doctor Who fans.

The 52-year-old author added: "Once I'd finished telling my story, in which I create an incredibly creepy Dr Who villain or possibly bunch of villains called The Kin, there was definitely part of me who went 'You know, wouldn't it be fun to put this on screen?'

"Wouldn't this be fun to see if I can actually make people wee themselves with terror in real life?"

Matt Smith
Image caption Nothing O'Clock is based on Matt Smith's role as the 11th Doctor

Other authors who contributed to the series include Malorie Blackman, Patrick Ness, and Charlie Higson.

Gaiman said that there is a part of him that "wishes" he could write an episode for the new Doctor, Peter Capaldi.

"Even though I managed to find time where there was no time at all, to write this story, I haven't been able to find time to write an actual Doctor Who episode. So I think that may have to wait a series or two."

Nothing O'Clock will be released on 21 November.

Follow @BBCNewsbeat on Twitter