Lady Gaga to open iTunes festival with all new music


Lady Gaga

Lady Gaga has confirmed that she will make her first live UK appearance in just under a year at iTunes Festival.

The singer is set to headline the opening night of this year's event, which takes place at London's Roundhouse venue every night throughout September.

Gaga tweeted about the show: "ONE HOUR OF ALL NEW MUSIC. #UKMonstersGetReady"

Lady Gaga joins Tinie Tempah, Elton John, Robin Thicke and Kings of Leon on the festival line-up.

She also talked about the performance during an interview on American radio station AMP.

The 27-year-old said she had told organisers that she would be "really mad" if she had to perform old tracks.

"I'm so excited, I've told everyone," she added.

Lady Gaga

The last time the singer performed in the UK was on 11 September 2012 at the Manchester Arena during her Born This Way Ball world tour.

Haim, Dizzee Rascal, Ellie Goulding and Kendrick Lamar have also been added to this year's line-up.

Justin Timberlake, Jessie J, Queens of the Stone Age and Arctic Monkeys are also on the bill.

Acts for every date except the final show on 30 September have now been confirmed.

Gaga's also scheduled as the headline act at this year's MTV Video Music Awards in Brooklyn on 25 August.

'Pop Emergency'

The Poker Face singer's announcement comes in the same week that she declared a "pop emergency" to nearly 40 million Twitter followers, after her new single appeared online.

Some responded by reporting links to streams and illegal downloads.

Applause was officially due out on 19 August but has been released a week early.

The track is the lead single from Gaga's third studio album Artpop, which is due out in November.

The current iTunes Festival line-up is as follows:

Lady Gaga - 1 September

Sigur Ros + Polica - 2

The Lumineers + Phox - 3

Paramore + Fenech-Soler - 4

Rizzle Kicks - 5

Queens Of The Stone Age + Palma Violets - 6

Phoenix + Little Green Cars - 7

Bastille + The 1975 - 8

Arctic Monkeys + Drenge - 9

Jake Bugg + Valerie June - 10

Kings of Leon + Jimmy Eat World - 11

Elton John + Tom Odell - 12

Avicii - 13

Chic ft. Nile Rodgers + Janelle Monae - 14

Vampire Weekend + The Olms - 15

Jack Johnson + Bahamas - 16

Ludovico Einaudi - 17

Thirty Seconds To Mars + The Family Rain - 18

Kendrick Lamar - 19

Primal Scream - 20

Haim + Dan Croll - 21

Ellie Goulding - 22

Jessie J + Lawson - 23

Robin Thicke - 24

Pixies + No Ceremony - 25

Tinie Tempah - 26

Dizzee Rascal - 27

John Legend + Robin Thicke - 28

Justin Timberlake - 29

Follow @BBCNewsbeat on Twitter

Click here to tweet this story from your account