The XX and Alt-J up for Indie Music Awards


Image caption Alt-J are up for two AIM Independent Music Awards

The XX, Vampire Weekend and Alt-J are among the acts nominated for this year's AIM Independent Music Awards.

These awards recognise artists on independent labels and the unsung heroes in the indie sector of the music industry.

Ten albums have been nominated in the Album of The Year category including Vampire Weekend, The XX and Daughter.

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis are up for two awards, most played new independent act and best video for Thrift Shop.

Enter Shikari are up against Johnny Marr and The National for Best Live Act.

Alt-J could be adding to their collection of awards, which currently includes the Mercury Music Prize as they are up for two.

The foursome are up for hardest working band and most played new independent act.

They tweeted their excitement about the news, "very happy to be nominated for two AIM awards!"

The awards take place on September 3 in London and will be hosted by Radio 1 DJ Huw Stephens and BBC 6 Music's Steve Lamacq.

Enter Shikari
Image caption Enter Shikari are up for Best Live Act


Independent Album of the Year

Daughter - If You Leave (4AD)

David Byrne & St Vincent - Love This Giant (4AD)

Ghostpoet - Some Say I So I Say Light (PIAS)

Jagwar Ma - Howlin' (Marathon Artists)

John Grant - Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)

Jon Hopkins - Immunity (Domino)

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds - Push the Sky Away (Bad Seed)

Public Service Broadcasting - Inform - Educate - Entertain (Liquid Management)

Vampire Weekend - Modern Vampires of the City (XL)

The xx - Coexist (XL)

Best Difficult Second Album

Ghostpoet - Some Say I So I Say Light (PIAS)

John Grant - Pale Green Ghosts (Bella Union)

Major Lazer - Free The Universe (Because Music)

Villagers - Awayland (Domino)

The xx - Coexist (XL Recordings)

Special Catalogue Release of the Year

Bonobo - The North Borders (Ninja Tune)

Interpol - Turn On The Bright Lights 10th Anniversary Edition (Matador)

The Horrors - Higher (XL)

Various - Kenya Special (Sound Way Records)

Various Artists - Scared to Get Happy: A Story of Indie Pop 1980-89 (Cherry Red)

Independent Track of the Year

Daughter - Youth (4AD)

Jagwar Ma - The Throw (Marathon Artists)

Palma Violets - Best of Friends (Rough Trade)

Passenger - Let Her Go (Nettwerk)

TNGHT - Higher Ground (Warp Records)

Vampire Weekend - Diane Young (XL Recordings)

Independent Video of the Year

Childhood - Solemn Skies (Marathon Artists)

David Byrne & St Vincent (4AD)

Django Django - WOR (Because Music)

Grimes - Genesis (4AD)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis - Thrift Shop (Macklemore/ADA)

The Ramona Flowers - Lust & Lies (Distiller Records)

Best Live Act

Bellowhead (Navigator)

Bonobo (Ninja Tune)

Enter Shikari (PIAS)

Johnny Marr (ADA)

The National (4AD)

PPL Award for most played new independent act

Alabama Shakes (Rough Trade)

Alt-J (Infectious)

Django Django (Because Music)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (ADA)

The 2 Bears (Southern Fried)

Independent Label of the Year

Bella Union

Cooking Vinyl




Best Small Label

Alcopop! Records

Gringo Records


Rocket Girl

Too Pure Singles Club

Hardest Working Band or Artist

Alt-J (Infectious)

The Computers (One Little Indian)

Enter Shikari (Ambush Reality/PIAS)

Frankie & the Heartstrings (Wichita)

Sam Lee (Nest Collective)

Indie Champion Award

Gilles Peterson - BBC Radio 1

Joe Sparrow - A Band A Day

John Kennedy - XFM

Lauren Laverne - BBC 6Music

Lawrence Montgomery - Rise Music

Best Independent Festival

Hebridean Celtic Festival

In The Woods


Truck Festival

Y Not Festival

Independent Breakthrough of the Year

The 1975 (Dirty Hit)

Daughter (4AD)

Macklemore & Ryan Lewis (Macklemore/ADA)

Palma Violets (Rough Trade)

Passenger (Nettwerk)

Public Service Broadcasting (Liquid Management)

Follow @BBCNewsbeat on Twitter