Jay-Z reveals track listing for Magna Carta Holy Grail



Jay-Z has revealed the track listing for his new album.

Magna Carta Holy Grail is due to be released on 4 July.

The rapper set fans on a scavenger hunt around New York to reveal the song titles, which were hidden in black binders around Brooklyn.

The 43-year-old has done a deal with Samsung to promote his 12th album, which will be made available first to one million of its customers through a mobile app.

Lyrics to one track have already been revealed through the app.

Magna Carta Holy Grail track listing

    • Picasso Baby
    • Heaven
    • Versus
    • Tom Ford
    • Beach Is Better
    • YouKnowIGotIt
    • Oceans
    • F.U.T.W.
    • Part II (On The Run)
    • BBC
    • La Familia
    • Jay-Z Blue
    • Nickles & Dimes
    • Holy Grail (Bonus Track)
    • 1Open Letter (Bonus Track)

Holy Grail features Justin Timberlake and borrows lines from Nirvana's Smells Like Teen Spirit.

They read: "And we all just/Entertainers/And we're stupid/And contagious."

The song also contains a reference to Nirvana's frontman Kurt Cobain.

Samsung has paid £3.2m for digital copies of the album for its customers.

They will not count as sales towards the Official Album Chart or the American Billboard 200.

Jay-Z tweeted: "If 1 Million records gets SOLD and billboard doesnt report it, did it happen? Ha."

Photographs posted online show the rapper working in the studio with Justin Timberlake, Nas and Timbaland.

Earlier this year he worked on the new Great Gatsby film starring Leonardo DiCaprio and Carey Mulligan.

He had an executive producer role, helping director Baz Luhrmann put together the jazz performances on screen and arrange the soundtrack.

Jay-Z is up for four BET Awards, announced later this month, including best group for his collaboration with Kanye West.

The Justin Timberlake track, Suit & Tie - on which Jay-Z features - is also nominated for video of the year, best collaboration and viewers' choice.

Follow @BBCNewsbeat on Twitter.