Yeah Yeah Yeahs set release date for new album Mosquito


Yeah Yeah Yeahs

Yeah Yeah Yeahs have announced they'll release their fourth album, Mosquito, on 15 April.

It's been produced by TV On The Radio's Dave Sitek and Nick Launay, who has previously worked with Arcade Fire.

One of the tracks on the release was produced by ex-LCD Soundsystem man James Murphy.

Singer Karen O said: "So much feeling went into this record, it was the rope ladder thrown down into the ditch for us to climb up and dust ourselves off."

The New York band's most recent album, It's Blitz!, was released in 2009.

This album was demoed in Manhattan, with the majority of it recorded at the Sonic Ranch studios, in Tornilla, Texas.

"I think this record has more moodier and tripped-out songs than you've ever heard from us," Karen O said in a statement about the album. "You might catch some roots reggae and minimalist psychedelia influences in there.

"This is a feel good, food for the soul, chicken soup for the ears Yeah Yeah Yeahs record - which doesn't mean easy listening - it means kind of raw, kind of chaotic, kind of dreamy. Very us."