Red Hot Chili Peppers explain new album I'm With You


John Frusciante

Red Hot Chili Peppers have told MTV their forthcoming album is called I'm With You because "it's inviting".

The record, due out in August, will be the band's first with new guitarist Josh Klinghoffer, who replaced John Frusciante in 2009.

Lead singer Anthony Kiedis revealed it was Klinghoffer who had thought of the title.

"Josh showed up one day and he wrote [I'm With You] on a piece of paper," he said.

"I was like, 'What's that?' And we all kind of put our eyes on it at the same time and went: 'That is the title of our record.'"

"It's open, and there's not really a negative connotation. It's inviting," Kiedis continued.

"It seems pretty open... to where the band is, what the band's doing, how the record wants to be related to, or related with," he added.

Tracklist for I'm With You

1. Monarchy of Roses

2. Factory of Faith

3. Brendan's Death Song

4. Ethiopia

5. Annie Wants a Baby

6. Look Around

7. The Adventures of Rain Dance Maggie

8. Did I Let You Know

9. Goodbye Hooray

10. Happiness Loves Company

11. Police Station

12. Even You Brutus?

13. Meet Me at the Corner

14. Dance, Dance, Dance

Red Hot Chilli Peppers' new album I'm With You is released on 30 August.