Ultimate Golden Joystick winners from previous years

29 October 2010 Last updated at 06:48

As the Golden Joystick awards get set to honour the best games of the year, look back at some of the titles that have won in recent years.
Fallout 3 screenshot
The Golden Joystick Awards, honouring the best video games of the year are held today (29 October). In 2009, members of the public cast more than 1.2 million votes. The ultimate game of the year went to Fallout 3.
Call of Duty 4 screenshot
First-person shooter Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare took top honours in 2008. The latest game in the massively popular series, Black Ops, is out in November.
Gears of War screenshot
Shoot-'em-ups are a regular winner of the ultimate game award. Gears of War, another multimillion seller, took the prize in 2007. The title is due for its third incarnation late in 2011.
The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion screenshot
The role-playing experience of The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion won out in 2006. The Golden Joysticks have been going for 28 years and early winners included classics like Gauntlet (1986) and OutRun (1988).
Grand Theft Auto: San Andreas screenshot
Another big franchise that's topped the voting at the awards is Grand Theft Auto. The San Andreas game won in 2005 but the series has received a lot of criticism for its violent scenes.
Doom 3 screenshot
One to give you nightmares ... First person shooter Doom 3 and its legions of demons and monsters took the ultimate game title in 2004. It's published by Activision games, who also make the Call of Duty series.
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City screenshot
Grand Theft Auto: Vice City featured gangsters, guns and cars. It's 'sandbox' gaming experience, where the player can roam freely, saw it voted the best game in 2003. This year's winner is announced at 4pm.