In Pictures: NME music awards

25 February 2010 Last updated at 15:21

Muse and Kasabian were the big winners at this year's NME awards with performances from Lily Allen, Courtney Love and Paul Weller.
Tom Meighan from Kasabian
The NME Awards 2010 have taken place at the Brixton academy in London. Kasabian's Tom Meighan collected the best album award for West Ryder Lunatic Pauper Asylum. The group also picked up the prize for best album artwork.
Dominic Howard and Matt Bellamy from Muse
Dominic Howard and Matt Bellamy from Muse also walked away with two NME awards for best British band (beating Oasis, Arctic Monkeys, Biffy Clyro and Kasabian) and best British website.
Paul Weller
Paul Weller, who received the God Like Genius award, was given a standing ovation. He said: "What can I say. It's taken them 30 years to realise it." He performed songs from across his career and was joined on stage by former Oasis guitarist Gem Archer.
Jamie Cook and Nick O'Malley from Arctic Monkeys
Arctic Monkeys only won one award, for best live band award, despite being nominated for six. They beat Kasabian, Muse, Radiohead and Them Crooked Vultures. Alex Turner said: "It's a good thing knowing we're still up for these awards."
Ben Johnston, James Johnston and Simon Neil of Biffy Clyro
Biffy Clyro's Ben Johnston, James Johnston and Simon Neil were there to pick up the best video award for The Captain.
Elly Jackson
Elly Jackson from La Roux was on hand to pick up the group's NME best dancefloor filler award for In for the Kill.
Lily Allen
Lily Allen collected NME's giving it back award for the Twitter treasure hunt she organised, where fans could find free tickets to her gigs. She sang a mash-up of Dominos and You're So Vain with The Big Pink at the event.
Courtney Love and Noel Fielding
Courtney Love sang on stage with Noel Fielding, who picked up best DVD award for the Mighty Boosh's Future Sailor. Her re-formed band Hole also played new single Samantha while Fielding threw fake severed heads out of a bin bag into the audience.
The Drums
The Drums - Jacob Graham, Connor Hanwick, Adam Kessler and Jonathon Pierce - won the Philip Hall Radar Award. The New York band, formed in 2008, played on NME's tour this month and are supporting Florence and the Machine in May.
Robbie Furze from The Big Pink
Robbie Furze from The Big Pink performed with Lily Allen at the awards. The group picked up best track for Dominos and also played on NME's UK tour this month. Best new band went to another NME favourite, Bombay Bicycle Club.