Cayman Islands profile

Head of state: Queen Elizabeth II, represented by a governor

Premier: Alden McLaughlin

Alden McLaughlin, from the People's Progressive Movement (PPM), was appointed as premier following elections in May 2013.

The PPM won 9 of the 18 seats in the Legislative Assembly, one short of a majority. It gained a majority when an ex-premier, Juliana O'Connor-Connolly, joined the party and accepted the post of speaker.

Ms O'Connor-Connolly had served as premier since December 2012, when her predecessor McKeeva Bush from the United Democratic Party was arrested on suspicion of corruption.

Parliament passed a vote of no confidence in Mr Bush after he refused to resign, effectively removing him from office.

More Latin America & Caribbean stories



  • Two sphinxes guarding the entrance to the tombTomb mystery

    Secrets of ancient burial site keep Greeks guessing

  • The chequeBig gamble

    How does it feel to bet £900,000 on the Scottish referendum?

  • Tattooed person using tabletRogue ink

    People who lost their jobs because of their tattoos

  • Deepika PadukoneBeauty and a tweet

    Bollywood cleavage row shows India's 'crass' side

  • Relief sculpture of MithrasRoman puzzle

    How to put London's mysterious underground temple back together

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.