Four elected on to Isle of Man Legislative Council

Tynwald Chamber The Legislative Council is often referred to as the Manx equivalent of the House of Lords

Related Stories

Four people have been elected on to the Isle of Man's Legislative Council at a special sitting of the House of Keys.

Michael Coleman and former MHK Geoff Corkish took two of the four seats made available after the retirement of David Callister and Eddie Lowey.

Tony Wild and Juan Turner have both been re-elected after reaching the end of their five-year tenure.

Seven nominations were received for four vacant seats.

They were Linda Bowers-Kasch, Michael Coleman, Geoff Corkish MHK, Peter Hill, Nigel Malpass, Juan Turner and Tony Wild.

The Legislative Council is the upper branch of Tynwald and has 11 members.

David Callister has served on the Legislative Council since 2008 and Eddie Lowey since 1982.

Non-public vote

Each election candidate must have the support of at least 13 members of the House of Keys (MHK) to be elected.

Those members include eight elected members, the President of Tynwald, the Bishop of Sodor and Man and the Attorney General.

Although members of the public can attend the sittings when voting takes place, they are not allowed to take part in the voting process.

The Legislative Council primarily acts as a revising chamber for bills.

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

BBC Isle of Man



8 °C 7 °C


Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.