Media playback is unsupported on your device

EU signs partnership agreements with ex-USSR states

27 June 2014 Last updated at 09:34 BST

Ukraine, Georgia and Moldova have signed partnership agreements with the European Union, which will bind the three countries more closely to the west.

Ukrainian President Petro Poroshenko said he saw the signing as the start of preparations for EU membership.

David Eades reports.

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.