Spain names ex-Lehman executive as economy minister

Spain Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy, 19 Dec 11 Mr Rajoy won in landslide elections last month amid concerns over the economy

Related Stories

Spain's new conservative Prime Minister Mariano Rajoy has named his new cabinet after being sworn into office.

Luis de Guindos, a former Lehman Brothers executive, will be economic minister, while Cristobal Montoro was appointed treasury minister.

The new ministers will be required to help steer the country through its toughest economic crisis in decades.

Mr Rajoy's Popular Party (PP) won polls last month, ousting the Socialist Party amid deep economic gloom.

Mr de Guindos, 51, an economist who headed Lehman Brothers in Spain, was second-in-charge in the ministry between 2002 and 2004 when the PP was last in power.

Working with him in the newly-created post of treasury minister will be Mr Montoro, who has helped draw up the party's economic policies in opposition over the last seven years.

Mr Montoro was also number two in the economy ministry from 1996 to 2000, and treasury minister from 2000 to 2004.

In other appointments, Jose Manuel Garcia-Margallo was named foreign minister and Fatima Banez, an economist and lawyer, was appointed labour minister.

Jorge Fernandez Diaz was named interior minister, while Madrid Mayor Alberto Ruiz Gallardon will be justice minister and Pedro Morenes defence minister.

Earlier, Mr Rajoy was sworn in as premier before King Juan Carlos.

More on This Story

Related Stories

More Europe stories



  • Atletico's Diego Godin celebrates his goal with teammate David VillaWeek in pictures

    Selection of the best news photographs from around the world

  • Susanne du ToitTop 10 Tips

    Portrait painter Susanne du Toit on being an artist

  • StampsPost independence

    Will stamps get cheaper if Scots go it alone?

  • Rhea10 things

    Rhea birds can be extremely dangerous, plus other factlets

  • Plane at Shannon airportShannon's call

    The airport that hosted a roll-call of presidents

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.