Irish presidential election count as it happened

Key points

  • Michael D Higgins is to become the next Irish president, with almost 40% of the first-preference vote
  • Share of first-preference vote: Michael D Higgins 39.6%, Sean Gallagher 28.5%; Martin McGuinness 13.7%; Gay Mitchell 6.4%; David Norris 6.2%; Dana Rosemary Scallon 2.9%; Mary Davis 2.7%
  • Dana Rosemary Scallon and Mary Davis are eliminated from the count; transfers are being reallocated to remaining five candidates
  • The president, who serves as a ceremonial head of state, is elected for a seven-year term and can be re-elected only once
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Join the discussion

Comment here

The BBC may edit your comments and not all emails will be published.
Your comments may be published on any BBC media worldwide.

Terms and conditions

Copyright © 2017 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.