Communists win India's Tripura poll

Poll officials tally ballots from electronic voting machines at a counting hall in Tripura The Communists won a landslide victory in state assembly elections in Tripura

Related Stories

India's Communists have returned to power for a record fifth consecutive term in the north-eastern state of Tripura.

The Communist Party of India (Marxist)-led Left Front coalition won 50 of the 60 seats in the state assembly.

Tripura is the only state in India that is ruled by the Communists.

Their coalition has been in power for 20 years. Chief Minister Manik Sarkar has held the top post for the last 15 years.

The results of assembly elections in the north-eastern states of Meghalaya and Nagaland were also announced on Thursday.

The Naga People's Front won in Nagaland, while the Congress party retained power in Meghalaya.

More on This Story

Related Stories

More India stories



  • Two sphinxes guarding the entrance to the tombTomb mystery

    Secrets of ancient burial site keep Greeks guessing

  • The chequeBig gamble

    How does it feel to bet £900,000 on the Scottish referendum?

  • Tattooed person using tabletRogue ink

    People who lost their jobs because of their tattoos

  • Deepika PadukoneBeauty and a tweet

    Bollywood cleavage row shows India's 'crass' side

  • Relief sculpture of MithrasRoman puzzle

    How to put London's mysterious underground temple back together

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.