Scottish Borders Council by-election candidates confirmed

Nathaniel Buckingham Mr Buckingham stood down after a little over a year on Scottish Borders Council

Related Stories

Seven candidates are seeking to win a council seat left vacant when a Conservative councillor resigned after 15 months in the post.

Nathaniel Buckingham stepped down from Scottish Borders Council due to work and family commitments.

Nominations to take his Tweeddale West seat closed on Monday.

The Conservatives, Labour, Liberal Democrats, SNP, UKIP, The Borders Party and one independent will all contest the election on 10 October.

The full list of nominations is:

  • Keith Cockburn (Scottish Conservative and Unionist)
  • David Cox (Independent)
  • Mars Goodman (UKIP)
  • Morag Kerr (SNP)
  • Veronica McTernan (Scottish Labour)
  • Nancy Norman (Scottish Liberal Democrats)
  • David Pye (The Borders Party)

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

BBC South Scotland



Min. Night 11 °C


BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.