Scotland politics

Cowdenbeath MSP Alex Rowley sworn in

Labour's Alex Rowley has been sworn in as the new MSP for Cowdenbeath.

Mr Rowley took the oath of affirmation in the Scottish Parliament after holding the seat for Labour in a by-election on 23 January.

The by-election followed the death of Helen Eadie, who had been an MSP since the parliament's establishment in 1999.

Mr Rowley beat the SNP with a majority of 5,488. The Conservatives came third, while UKIP pushed the Liberal Democrats into fifth place.

The result saw an 11.25% swing from the SNP to Labour from the 2011 Scottish election, on a voter turnout of 34%.

Ms Eadie held Cowdenbeath for Labour with a 1,247 vote majority at the last Scottish Parliament election.

More on this story