South Lanarkshire Council

Key facts

Who runs the council? Total seats Council tax

Labour led coalition with Conservative support


Band D, £1,101

  • The population of the council area stood at 310,930 in 2009 and the authority employs about 14,600 full and part-time workers.
  • The council's budget stands at about £715m.
  • South Lanarkshire Council headquarters are based in the town of Hamilton.
  • The council has 20 wards, electing 67 councillors.
South Lanarkshire Council map South Lanarkshire Council has 20 multi-member wards
  • The local authority area covers 180,000 hectares of land stretching from a few miles from the city centre of Glasgow to close to the Scottish Border.
  • There are four towns - East Kilbride, Hamilton, Rutherglen and Cambuslang - and a further 23 towns and smaller conurbations.
  • South Lanarkshire Council was recently named as one of six Scottish local authorities, facing "particular challenges" with youth unemployment, which will share £9m to create work opportunities.

More on This Story

Related Stories

More Scotland politics stories



Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.