Clackmannanshire Council

Key facts

Who runs the council? Total seats Council tax

SNP control


Band D, £1,148

  • The local authority of Clackmannanshire - know as the Wee County - is one of Scotland's smallest councils
  • In January this year, the SNP took control after a vote of no confidence in the Labour administration.
Clackmannanshire Council map
  • Clackmannanshire Council consists of five wards, each represented by three or four elected members.
  • It has a budget of £118.5m per annum.
  • The population for the council area stood at 50,540 in 2009 and the authority has about 2,500 employees.
  • About half of the council's residents live in and around the main town of Alloa, which is also the administrative headquarters for the local authority.
  • In 2008, a railway line re-establishing Alloa's connection with Stirling and the wider rail network was opened after a break of 40 years.
  • The opening of the £120m Clackmannanshire Bridge in 2008 also saw the area joined to the motorway network for the first time.

More Scotland politics stories



Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.