Scotland politics

Angus Council

  • In 1996, two-tier local government was abolished and Angus was established as one of the replacement single-tier council areas with eight multi-member wards, electing a total of 29 councillors.
  • The Angus Council area borders Aberdeenshire, Perth and Kinross and Dundee City.
  • The population of the local authority stood at 110,250 in 2009 .
  • The council, based in the county town of Forfar, employs 5,500 full time equivalent staff.
  • It has a budget of about £260m.
  • Arbroath is the largest town in the council area of Angus and it lends its name to the Declaration of Arbroath and the famous delicacy, the Arbroath Smokie.
Angus council map
  • The town of Brechin boast its own round-tower cathedral with features from the 13th and 14th Centuries.
  • The Scottish coastal resort of Montrose is about 40 miles north of Dundee between the mouths of the North and South Esk rivers. The town has a wealth of history and remains an important commercial port for the oil and gas industry.
  • Agriculture is one of the major industries in Angus, along with engineering, fishing, food processing, textiles and pharmaceuticals.
  • It is also home to the challenging golf course of Carnoustie.

More on this story