East Renfrewshire Council

Key facts

Who runs the council? Total seats Council tax

Lab - SNP coalition


Band D, £1,126

  • In local government terms, East Renfrewshire is a relatively young council.
  • It was formed in 1996, as a successor to the Eastwood District Council, and its main towns include Newton Mearns, Giffnock, Clarkston and Barrhead.
  • The area is characteristically residential and has some of the best-performing state schools in the country.
  • Last year, three of its high schools - St Ninian's; Mearns Castle and Williamwood - were among the top five, based on Highers results passed by the end of fifth year.
East Renfrewshire map
  • The council employs more than 3,000 people.
  • It has a population of almost 90,000 residents.
  • Within its boundaries is Europe's largest onshore wind farm, Whitelee, on Eaglesham Moor, which has 140 turbines.
  • It also has the popular Edwardian Rouken Glen park featuring a boating pond, play and skate boarding parks, a large waterfall, woodland walks and a walled garden.

More on This Story

Related Stories

More Scotland politics stories



  • Alana Saarinen at pianoMum, Dad and Mum

    The girl with three biological parents

  • Polish and British flags alongside British roadsideWar debt

    Does the UK still feel a sense of obligation towards Poles?

  • Islamic State fighters parade in Raqqa, Syria (30 June 2014)Who backs IS?

    Where Islamic State finds support to become a formidable force

  • Bride and groom-to-be photographed underwaterWetted bliss

    Chinese couples told to smile, but please hold your breath

  • A ship is dismantled for scrap in the port city of Chittagong, BangladeshDangerous work

    Bangladesh's ship breakers face economic challenge

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.