Alex Salmond wins Spectator's Politician of the Year

Alex Salmond was named Politician of the Year by Spectator magazine Alex Salmond was named Politician of the Year by Spectator magazine

Related Stories

Scotland's First Minister Alex Salmond has been named as Spectator magazine's 2011 politician of the year.

The Spectator said it rewarded him "for his achievement in winning an overall majority in the Scottish Parliament".

It also hailed him for "seeing off the leaders of the other three main political parties in Scotland".

Mr Salmond's Scottish National Party won 69 seats out of 129 in a voting system which was designed to make it impossible to achieve a majority.

The Scottish leaders of Labour, the Conservatives and the Lib Dems resigned in the wake of the SNP victory.

Last week Mr Salmond was named Scottish politician of the year at The Herald's annual awards.

He was also awarded the third South Australia International Climate Change Award.

A spokesman for Mr Salmond said: "This is a hat-trick of awards for the first minister in the last few weeks, and a hat-trick of Spectator awards.

"It is a reflection of the strength and popularity of the first minister and SNP government, and the progress that Scotland is making as we approach the referendum."

The awards were judged by a panel of senior journalists across a range of media organisations.

Mr Salmond was unable to attend the ceremony in London.

The other winners were:

  • Newcomer of the Year: Dominic Raab MP
  • Select Committee Chairman of the Year: Andrew Tyrie MP
  • Campaigner of the Year: Stella Creasy MP
  • Inquisitor of the Year: John Whittingdale OBE MP on behalf of the Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee
  • Backbencher of the Year: Adam Holloway MP
  • Double Act of the Year: The Rt Hon Kenneth Clarke QC MP & The Rt Hon Theresa May MP
  • Speech of the Year: Charles Walker MP
  • Survivor of the Year: The Rt Hon Chris Huhne MP
  • Readers' Representative of the Year: Philip Davies MP
  • Minister of the Year: The Rt Hon Michael Gove MP
  • Parliamentarian of the Year: The Rt Hon Baroness Williams of Crosby PC

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

More Scotland politics stories



  • Nigel Farage (left) and Douglas CarswellWho's next?

    The Tory MPs being tipped to follow Carswell to UKIP

  • A painting of the White House on fire by Tom FreemanFinders keepers

    The odd objects looted by the British from Washington in 1814

  • President Barack Obama pauses during a press conference on 28 August.'No strategy'

    Obama's gaffe on Islamic State reveals political truth

  • Chris and Regina Catrambone with their daughter Maria LuisaSOS

    The millionaires who rescue people at sea

  • Plane7 days quiz

    What unusual offence got a Frenchman thrown off a plane?

BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.