Aberdeen Donside by-election: Voting finishes

Live coverage of the Aberdeen Donside by-election results

The votes are being counted after polls closed in the Aberdeen Donside Holyrood by-election.

It follows the death of the SNP MSP Brian Adam, who died in April aged 64, after a battle with cancer.

By-election special

  • When? - Thursday, 20 June, starting 23:00
  • Where? - BBC Two Scotland
  • What? - A live Newsnight Scotland programme covering the result of the Aberdeen Donside contest

The turnout was 38%.

The parties contesting the by-election are the SNP, Labour, Conservatives, Lib Dems, Scottish Greens, UKIP, National Front, Scottish Democratic Alliance and Scottish Christian Party.

The result is due early on Friday.

The polls were open from 07:00 until 22:00.

The candidates are Mark McDonald (SNP), Willie Young (Labour), Ross Thomson (Conservative), Christine Jardine (Lib Dems), Rhonda Reekie (Scottish Greens), Otto Inglis (UKIP), Dave MacDonald (National Front), James Trolland (Scottish Democratic Alliance) and Tom Morrow (Scottish Christian Party "Proclaiming Christ's Lordship").

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

BBC North East, Orkney and Shetland



7 °C 7 °C


Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.