Wythenshawe and Sale East by-election polls close

Ballot boxes Voting will take place from 07:00 to 22:00 GMT on Thursday

The polls have closed in the Wythenshawe and Sale East by-election to choose the successor to MP Paul Goggins, who died earlier this year.

Seven candidates are standing in the Greater Manchester seat.

Polls were open from 07:00 until 22:00 GMT, with the result expected to be announced in the early hours of Friday morning.

Labour's Mr Goggins died in January after collapsing while he was out jogging.

He had represented Wythenshawe and Sale East since the constituency's creation in 1997

The candidates (in alphabetical order) are:

  • John Bickley (UK Independence Party)
  • The Rev Daniel Critchlow (Conservative)
  • Capt Chaplington-Smythe (Monster Raving Loony Party)
  • Mary Di Mauro (Liberal Democrat)
  • Michael Kane (Labour)
  • Eddy O'Sullivan (British National Party)
  • Nigel Woodcock (Green Party)

More Politics stories



BBC © 2014 The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.