Thousands take part in Belfast Marathon

Start of Belfast Marathon Runners set off from Belfast City Hall at 09:00 BST on Monday

Related Stories

Thousands of people have been taking part in this year's Belfast Marathon.

Kenyan Freddy Sittuk took victory in the men's race with a time of 2 hours 18 minutes and 30 seconds.

Ethiopian Bayrush Shiferaw won the women's race in 2:41.20, while in the wheelchair event Kildare man Patrick Monahan won with a personal best of 2:06.21.

The main race began at the City Hall at 09:00 BST, and the 26.2 mile route finishes at Ormeau Park.

More than 18,000 competitors took part in the various events, which included a team relay and a fun run.

Marathon participants
Runners pass City Hall
Runners in wigs

More on This Story

Related Stories

The BBC is not responsible for the content of external Internet sites

More Northern Ireland stories



  • Mukesh SinghNo remorse

    Delhi bus rapist says victim shouldn't have fought back

  • Aimen DeanI spied

    The founder member of al-Qaeda who worked for MI6

  • Before and after shotsPerfect body

    Just how reliable are 'before and after' photos?

  • Woman with closed eyeStrange light show

    What do you see when you close your eyes?

  • Sony WalkmanLost ideas

    What has happened to Japan's inventors?

Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.