Vote 2014: Candidate list finalised for Northern Ireland local elections

Northern Ireland’s new super council boundaries map

Related Stories

A total of 905 candidates have been confirmed to stand in next month's elections to the 11 new local councils in Northern Ireland.

The vote is due to take place on Thursday 22 May, the same day as the European Parliament elections.

The council elections are taking place against the backdrop of the biggest reform of local government in decades.

The existing 26 local councils are being reorganised into 11 larger "super councils".

Within each new council there are District Electoral Areas (DEAs).

Shadow form

The 11 new super councils

Antrim and Newtownabbey

Armagh City, Banbridge and Craigavon

Belfast City

Causeway Coast and Glens

Derry City and Strabane

Fermanagh and Omagh

Lisburn City and Castlereagh

Mid and East Antrim

Mid Ulster

Newry City, Mourne and Down

North Down and Ards

Each DEA will elect between five and seven councillors, depending on the size of the population within the boundary area.

In total, the 905 candidates will compete for 462 seats.

The local election results are expected to be announced from Friday 23 May to Saturday 24 May.

After the poll, the new councils will operate in shadow form for a 10-month period, before they officially replace the current councils on 1 April 2015.

More on This Story

Related Stories

More Northern Ireland stories



Try our new site and tell us what you think. Learn more
Take me there

Copyright © 2015 BBC. The BBC is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read more.

This page is best viewed in an up-to-date web browser with style sheets (CSS) enabled. While you will be able to view the content of this page in your current browser, you will not be able to get the full visual experience. Please consider upgrading your browser software or enabling style sheets (CSS) if you are able to do so.